Mushroom Monday - An Evening Walk

Here are a few fungi I found on my evening walk for this #mushroommonday
20210813_191124_copy.jpg
These three little fellows were right in the bark path in a spruce forest area of the arboretum.

20210813_191133_copy.jpg
Fortunately no one stepped on them. I believe this is conocybe alpipes and it contains some toxins though no one has ever been recorded dying of these before.

20210813_184223_copy.jpg
I found some edible oysters, sadly these were too old and buggy to be harvested.

20210813_184124_copy.jpg
Here is a really tiny polypore of some kind. The cap was only about the diameter of a pea. I have no idea what it's Latin name might be.

20210813_190937_copy.jpg
Now for a large and old polypore. Maybe its a species of ganoderma or possibly a Fomes fomentarius.

20210813_190725_copy.jpg
Now for some turkeytail.

20210813_190018_copy.jpg
And some false turkeytail.

20210813_190922_copy.jpg
And finally some really old dead crumbly turkeytail. This stuff is super common around here. It is a nice medicinal with anticancer properties in it.

20210813_184141_copy.jpg
Here is a strange purple tinted polypore. I suspect it might be related to
Trichaptum biforme.

20210813_191729.jpg
Now for a random spike butted spider on a spider web. I run into these guy's webs all the time while mushroom hunting and end up feeling them crawling on me. They are harmless and one of the most common spiders in the forest Spiny Micranthena (Micrathena gracilis).

That's all for #mushroommonday thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Amazing capture

Thanks :-) Hopefully the fall season will bring out all the nice edible mushrooms soon.

You always find interesting mushrooms!! Why?! 🙀🛸👽😎

Perhaps I'm a bit related to them lol.

I would have thought so too! Weirdo! 🙀😂

They call to me from the forest.

Wow! You definitely belong to mushroom’s kingdom!

I thought the mushrooms 🍄 we found in forests are non edible...is it was one of them???
Awesome Clicks ❣️❣️

Many mushrooms are edible in the forest, though you have to really know the signs of the edible ones otherwise you could end up poisoned.

Yeha you are right,,if we don't have knowledge of the thing,,it may harm us

Some will just cause stomach ache others will get you hallucination and a few will actually kill you. Fortunately the edible ones are usually pretty easy to identify.

Yeah...how can we recognise the edible one?

Lots of research and it is different for each region. So you kind of have to look at local sources of information for edible mushrooms. Here I have morels, oysters, dryads, blewits, chicken of the woods, chanterelles and many more. I found a few books on mushrooms of the midwest to figure out what everything was around here.

Thank you for this much information ❣️

All Mushrooms are looking awesome. Your photography has been really awesome.

Thanks :-) I wish I had found the oysters earlier for a meal.

beautiful photos. Seen so closely they are very fascinating and particular.

Thanks, mushrooms are a fun subject matter.

i heard that mashroom is also being used as medicines and can cure some severe diseases.

Yeah Reishi is a good medicinal as well as the turkeytail I found, very common around here.

Nice photography.

Are the first mushrooms from the genus Panaeolus?

Yeah they appear to be in that genus, we call them lawn mushrooms here.

I also meet them sometimes, but I haven't tried eating ...
Is there any effect?

I wouldn't eat them they have toxin in them similar to the death caps.

Oh, it's clear, it's not worth the risk)

Cool.
You collect some very beautiful types of mushrooms.
I'm very interested to see it.
Thank you for sharing.

I sure hope it rains before the weekend so I can post new ones for friday.

Yes.
Hopefully that will happen.