You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crown-tipped Coral Fungus - A Beautiful & Edible Forest Fungi

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the ID on Megacollybia rodmanii I've seen that one a few times but never knew what it was. I would love to find a tumbling puffball someday as well. I would have eaten those crown tipped corals in a heartbeat, even just a little taste of them is worth it in a ramen noodle soup - flash boiled.

Sort:  

To be completely fair, the credit for that ID should go to Adam Bryant. I originally thought that it was a Fawn mushroom (Pluteus cervinus), but Adam was able to point out a few distinguishing features to show that I was incorrect. Here is a link to his inaturalist account: https://www.inaturalist.org/people/adambryant

This weekend I'm headed to Porcupine Mountain, maybe I'll see one of them around. Hopefully some black trumpets as well.