Double headed mushroom πŸ˜† - MushroomMonday

in Fungi Lovers β€’ 2 years ago

Alice in Wonderland

Happy #mushroommonday πŸ„ A fun photo I took today πŸ™‚

Overhead view

I think this is Amanita muscaria var. guessowii https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amanita_muscaria_var._guessowii

Doubleheaded mushroom

This one looks like it has two heads 😁

Second view of doubleheaded mushroom

Here's another view. Looks like a lawn mower blew some grass clippings on the gills.

Bite missing

Looks like a bird or someone else took a little sample of this mushroom.

Amanita muscaria var. guessowii

According to https://foragerchef.com/amanita-muscariafly-agaric/ its "edible, hallucinogenic and potentially poisonous." Potentially poisonous and edible are mutually exclusive in my book 🀣

Opened up

Here is an older example of the Amanita muscaria var. guessowii also know as American yellow fly agaric.

Open cap side view

An Alice in Wonderland view although the Amanita muscaria in that story is the red variety.

Pholiota ?

These mushrooms were nearby and looked similar but were growing out of a tree.

Gill view

I think they are a variety of Pholiota. And Pholiota is poisonous. Forager beware. And again I feel the need to say at least once a post... I am an unexperienced mushroom photographer and forager. Don't put much weight on any of my identifications. Find a knowledgeable local forager to learn from if you are new.

Tops

Another shot of the Pholiota. Both the mushrooms in my post are in this article https://vlt.org/2022/08/11/forest-mushrooms-in-vermont/

In situ

Here's a final shot of the Pholiota showing where they were growing.

Thanks for checking out my #mushroommonday. Here's a bonus picture of other things that like our damp Vermont woods.

Wood frog

Bravely captured by my wife 😁

Sort: Β 
Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Frustratingly they aren't loadong this end.

You can eat amanita, you just have to boil and discard water a few times. There's a great Pdf about this as a myth somewhere, very interesting read.
https://www.researchgate.net/publication/225651339_A_Study_of_Cultural_Bias_in_Field_Guide_Determinations_of_Mushroom_Edibility_Using_the_Iconic_Mushroom_Amanita_muscaria_as_an_Example

I haven't tried eating any mushrooms that aren't easy to prepare. And frankly have some trouble getting family to eat those lol I need to step up my game 😊

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Hahah yes you have to prepare them right. Once I did that they were delicious.

And I'm yet to be brave enough to try the amanita - I will do, one day... just have to think about it ALOT, first!

What a huge mushroom and it's looking like in those disney movie.

Thanks thats the look I was going for with the ground level perspective shots :)

yeah, that was a powerful and mighty edition.

Nice yellow ananita muscaria. The old mushroom books used to list the pholiotas as edible.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

uh oh are my bias showing? 😁

Yeah usually mushroom that require parboiling end up being listed as poisonous. Some of the main ones are the false morel, russulas and amanitas.

Thanks. These weren’t the mushrooms in my lawn. I’ll have to give them a few days to come back. These were from a walk.

Yay! πŸ€—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @steven-patrick.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Beautiful pic of this mushroom. For me, edible and poisonous they don't really go together but my English isn't so good πŸ˜€

Thanks. I think some mushrooms that can be eaten if carefully prepared were previously considered edible. But times have changed and the risk is now considered too high.

at least, you should agree that "toxic / inedible" not necessarily the same arrays, in various mushroom cases

Pholiota ? ... definitely!

!BEER

thanks for the beer 🍻


Hey @steven-patrick, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Nice ones! I'm still looking for my first A. muscaria :)

Thanks and good luck πŸ‘