First mushroom Spore Print πŸ™‚

in Fungi Lovers β€’ 2 years ago

img_4697

I went for a short walk on a new trail near me last week. I had my eyes open for mushrooms.

img_4695

The trail goes through several different types of woodland.

img_4718

The trail is in southern Addison County, Vermont or more generally central, western Vermont.

img_4702

I am a rookie forager and rookie fungi lover.

img_3959

These mushrooms looked a bit more promising.

img_3963

A bit past their prime but these appear to be oyster mushrooms (Pleurotus ostreatus).

I gathered a few and started back. Since I don't have much experience foraging, I took them by an experience forager friend. He confirmed they were oyster. I also have read about using spore print to help identify mushrooms.

img_4643

To create a spore print, you need to collect the spore on a surface with good contrast. I used black construction paper. Next place the mushroom spore side down and cover. I used a glass dish over the mushroom. Now just wait. Recommended wait is from 2 hours to 24 hours. I was a bit impatient and only waited 2 hours. You can read about making a spore print at this site.
image
https://namyco.org/how_to_spore_prints.php#:~:text=Put%20a%20drop%20of%20water,making%20a%20spore%20print%20pattern.

img_3966

The mushroom is flipped over in the photos so you can compare the print to the gills. Obviously it is gill side down to collect the spores 😊 The spore print should be white to lilac-gray for oyster mushrooms.

These photos also give a better look at the gills. "Oyster mushrooms have decurrent gills. This means they’re attached to the stem and run most of the way down it." - https://grocycle.com/oyster-mushrooms-guide

We sauteed a few of the younger mushrooms and made a nice omelete. Thats kind of a tradition for us when trying out our first batch of a new type of foraged mushrooms.

I had a fun time making my first spore print. Hope you enjoyed my post πŸ„

Sort: Β 

I did enjoy it! 😎 thanx for sharing!

Thanks for checking it out. I have a mushroom field guide now too πŸ™‚ I can start trying to identify some of the other mushrooms I find.

May I suggest you a few handy books in pdf format?..

Yes of course lol but don't worry this was a gift haha

here is the link [ x ] @riverflows, you might intrested too?

Thanks! I have already shared with another friend πŸ™‚

"Sharing is caring" (c) 😏

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

The link didn't work for me...

sadly. it is working. statistics of downloads: one....

Spore printing is a must for trying out new mushrooms. That top mushroom looks interesting I wonder if it might turn into a red belted polypore.

I know where it lives lol. I can keep an eye on it. Thanks for checking out my post πŸ™‚

Huh such thick ones in Spring time? Is that normal for there or has it been extremely moisty?

We have had lots of rain. I don't know how normal it is. I have only lived here for less than one year. Thanks for checking out my post :)

Yay! πŸ€—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hive-166168.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more