You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #CAMPFIRE CONVERSATION: Season 5 - [Fungi Lovers Challenge]

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

IMG_1232.JPG
These are some Birch polypore (Fomitopsis betulina) fruitings that I found while on a walk today. Birch polypore has been used for thousands of years, evidenced by samples of it being found along with the 5,300 year old mummy of Ötzi the Iceman (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%96tzi). The fungi can be used to fight parasitic whipworm (Trichuris trichura) as well as help seal wounds after being ground into a powder and mixed with water into a paste. Dried samples can be used to sharpen knives as well.

Sort:  

Any tinder fungus and birch also have many healing properties. They are used to strengthen immunity and even against oncology.
But I would not call these mushrooms the first spring ones, I would call them all-season (I almost said eternal))

Thank you for sharing. I'll have to look into the medicinal properties of these. My mistake that submitted one that does not first fruit in Spring. I misunderstood the post to mean that we should submit our first findings this Spring.

not necessarily this spring. Just the first spring mushroom in your mushroom places :)

hmmm, it isnt a spring mushroom, I remember exactly I have seen in in January, and in February, as well! ;)

My mistake. I posted this under the context that it was my first notable find this Spring rather than it being a fungi that first fruits in Spring.

it is not an error, it was your story :))))))

😜 😎 🙃

Keep an eye out for black crackly looking chaga in the birch forest. When I see these birch polypores I often find some chaga nearby. I read somewhere that the birch polypore might get parasitized by chaga but who knows if its true or not.