You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You be basic

in Self Improvement4 years ago

A lot of repair shops have closed up because it is simply cheaper to buy a new device when the current one breaks. I started out a long long time ago working in an electronics repair shop, TV's, Radio's, tape recorders, home electronics basically. I had to learn Ohm's law and a lot of other how to trouble shoot things. I am actually glad I did not continue along that line for a profession. It was dying and I could see that even at the age of 17. It was just simpler and cheaper to buy a new one.

Quality control for electronics took a nose dive, things were made cheap, made to fail, and throw away. Kind of like what society is doing for today's youth, make them cheap, make them fail, then throw them away when they can no longer consume.

Sort:  

The interesting thing now is that even the things that are made well, "fall apart" as they are no longer supported by the latest updates to software or, the software itself makes the device look like it is failing. Crazy.

Crazy is right, and yet we continue to feed the machine. I used to have to get a new computer every two years, next year I likely will need to get another new one, as this one is going on 5 years old now. It over heats, the fans are dying, but that just means I need to turn it off and let it cool for an hour or two.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.