The Timeless Filipino Time

in Self Improvement2 years ago



cl8cqh94f00zr1skce19xd4dh_DSC02288.webp
Does the term "Filipino Time" offends you?
cl8cqheqr00za14kc17w6eqtn_DSC02324.webp
Time is gold, so as these vintage bottles I saw from one of the restaurants here in my town.

Greetings! I stumbled on this community from a friends's post and thought I'd hop in, say hello and share something most of my Filipino friends can relate.

Filipino Time - a term many people make reference to being Filipino or even an expat. Some people even take offense to it while others (comedians and stage performers) even make jokes about it on TV, social media or in live performances.

Disclaimer: Any content provided by yours truly in this article are not intended to malign, insult nor disrespect anyone or anything. This is for self-improvement purposes only and your views are highly respected. Thank you.

Does the term **"Filipino Time" **offends you? Personally, I get spastic if I get the feeling I am running late. My motto is to always be early or right on time. I use the term "Filipino time" a lot.

A little convo of me and my husband some years ago:

*My husband: "Hun, hurry let's go! or we will be late!!"

Me: "Hun, Filipino time! If we leave now, we will be the only ones there".

(Relate, my Filipino friends? hehe)

If we meet with our foreign friends, we have to always be on time. It really makes no difference if they have Filipino partners. The foreigner will keep the time schedule.*

Some examples:

Barangay or town fiestas, pageants, raffles, or whatever. "5 pm at the Barangay Center". Goodluck. You won't see a single soul until at least 6-7 pm. My husband and I went to a friend's baby shower. We were on time. We were the ONLY ones there and it wasn't until 30 minutes later that people trickled in and even the host was over a half-hour late. It really is quite amusing. Being late in my opinion shows a total lack of respect to whoever set the appointed time. For the person who sets the time to be late is just as bad if not worse. I guess what trips me out is when "some" of my "Filipino friends" do get offended by the term "Filipino Time" when the term itself was coined by Filipinos and made quite common.

Practice not done today to be "important" as the Spanish, but being late due to simply sucking at organizational skills, responsible planning, and lack of respect to be on time. (referring to those who practice it). The Spaniards created the idea that being late boosted your importance. According to history, Filipinos took that and turned it into something else and dubbed it "Filipino time".

Filipino time is generally likened to being late and it's simply a final product of an explanation that is more profound than just lateness. They tend not to pressure themselves, regardless of whether it implies you are being impolite of other's time. Self starts things out for those who practice this.

⊱ღ꧂❤ One love ❤⊱ღ꧂
@bloghound

Published:
September 22, 2022 3:25pm PST
In between the farm and the beach
Philippines

(All texts, photos and videos are my own and taken by me unless stated otherwise - Please DO NOT Copy)

Copyright @bloghound 2022. All Rights Reserved.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @bloghound ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This was very interesting. I was raised by a strict stickler for Time. Dad was always early. I like to be early and wait if needed. I didn't hear of Filipino time before. I also hate being told a start time and waiting a long time.

William was shocked on his first few years here, Janelle 😁

Haha, I bet!

I also don't like being late in school, mommy because everyone will stare at you and not nice for those who came very early 😕

I know, Nani! So don't be late in school okay?

Wow... Some people are deliberately late for everything? I get it for a casual get together, if it's something done all the time. But for something special, or meeting someone, being on time is vital.

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

And they are proud about it @wrestlingdesires lol and kind of annoys me big time!

If it's genuinely a tradition, they could standardize it so everyone knows exactly when to expect to arrive?

More of a bad habit

We all have those 🤣

😂😂😂😂

Funny but sometimes I hate it huhu, I am not fond of late, like I have sort temper in waiting. I am always on time thou, professional time ateng hehe, but yeah even they are late cannot be undone yet sana practice it not to next time hayts.

Hehe etiquette na din yan, kabsat!

Filipino time always seems more mellow after a couple of glasses of Tanduay 😂

Haha or Emperador/Red Horse 😁

now you are talking!!! love red horse

I didn't know you guys have something like Filipino time, over here we call it African time 😆 I have also being in situations where I went to an event on time but it started an hour later. I don't usually like going late to an event, but these days I prefer it than being the first one there (it makes me look desperate)

Lol I heard that too, Kushy 😁 You guys are not alone 😁

Haha! We are in different continents but this I so relate to.

A quick story... I am a Kenyan by birth and we are also guilty by default of trying to be on time. I relate to the shift when it comes to a foreigner because it is then for some reason that we are able to keep time.

My agony is, I work with NGOs and those comprise of foreigners and so I have been integrated into the crowd that keeps time 😅

Aw lol! I've got a couple of Kenyan friends and they told me the same thing 😬

Meh na laging late sa office, haha pero ngayon ginagawa ko best ko na hindi na malate hahaha wala eh Filipino tayo ahha

Although I am mixed, I also grew up here in the Philippines, kapatid and I am not happy about this trait lol

That’s a very nice topic to discuss. It’s time for us Filipinos to improve the Filipino time. Usually it’s only in our country but when Filipinos go abroad, they follow the rules of the country policy on proper time etiquette.

Tama ate. Ba't ang nga pinoy pag nasa abroad on time naman di ba? hehe

Yes, on time dahil kailangan sumusod sa disiplina. The good thing many adopted it already so when they go back to our country they are not used to the old habit.

!ALIVE

@bloghound! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @vocup. (1/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Ganyan naman tlaga tayo sis Filipino time, is doing or attending the event before the exact time given Kaya Ang ending naaga tayo lagi Ng pnta hehehe

Always on time ako, sis hehe

Napaka legend tlga ng word na "Filipino time" hehehe. Kaya di na ako mgtataka pg mtagal mgstart ang program sis.

lol naman, sis! pero kahit alam kong ganun, on time pa din ako hehe. nakakahiya eh

Same tayo sis kya ang ending nauubos lahat position ko kakaantay hahaha.

Ah huh. Pa importante talaga. Totoo yan. Parang guest speaker. Hindi magsta start kung wala sya