You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What About You?

This is a very interesting post. I am from Spain and I have lived in different countries: Germany, Netherlands, Australia and Indonesia.

Living in Germany and in the Netherlands were like you described. In winter I didn't see the light because I would go to work and it was dark and when finishing as well. On the contrary in spring and summer there is more light than in Spain. I remember that you had daylight until 11pm. The houses are nice, comfortable and spacious since they spend a lot of time at home. The inconvenient is that you have to bring everything (even the floor and lamps)....

Australia is as big as Europe so depending on where you live you find different weather. I spent the summer there in Tasmania which weather was nice during the day and cool at nights. In Queensland is terrible. The houses are also spacious, but you also have to bring the furniture.

In Spain the weather is nice all year except July and August when is too hot and January/February when is "cold" (I am from the south of Spain so compare to the NEtherlands and Germany is not cold at all). The houses really depends on where you live. The challenge here is to find a peaceful place to live.

Indonesia is tropical weather. Yes it rains a lot but the weather is nice the whole year around. The houses are different for locals than for foreigners. Villas are super nice but nowadays very expensive. A few years ago was a paradise. Now is not, and a big problem is that almost everywhere you have mold and people can get very sick breathing this.

I'm thinking about moving to south of Portugal. If I move there I will share more on this.

Is there a perfect place to live? Yes and no. Everywhere has pros and cons. For me is important the weather, having the ocean/sea nearby, good quality houses (doesn't need to be spacious) and nice people around. A mix between Spain and Indonesia would be great!

Sort:  

Winter in Germany and Netherlands can be a bit tricky, depending where you are. I've been in both countries, in October in Germany, November in the Netherlands and wind and rain made my days a bit difficult.

I left out the tropical weather from my post as it was getting too long, but humidity would be a factor to consider.

You are right that wherever you live, there are pros and cons, so that's why I see a compromise, between summer and winter residence, if you can afford it and you're not tied to a single place.

I see you chose a mix between Spain and Indonesia :) Interesting.