Project 24: A Different Kind of Bright

in Self Improvement3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I made this video 5 hours before the first of July.

I was in the last hours of being 23, and I had a sudden reflection of how the previous months went. It was still summer break, and I could fully maximize every second of the time being one with nature. My skin has darkened, my wallet empty, but my heart is whole.

I wrote myself some musings, found some clips of my summer adventure, and edited. When midnight came, and I was officially 24, I listened to Lorde’s “Solar Power” single and uploaded this video to my Facebook.

Right now, it’s 5:07 PM. I’m sitting on my office chair, listening to Lorde’s “Solar Power” album, when I bumped into this video in one of the folders. I was stunned by how many colors there were when I was 23 and how different my mindset has been since I edited that video.

I was with nature and the outside – streets, beaches, mountains. I detached from my work, started learning the ups and downs of business, and I was with a company of good friends. I traveled from South to North, slept in tents and cheap hotels, got drunk, jumped in deep cold waterfalls (and I don’t know how to swim in freshwater), and did campfires. Trekking. Treading in shores. Joy rides. Evenings and sunrise.

Being one with nature allowed me to breathe out and tune in. I realized, “what a rollercoaster 23 was.” That was one of the most intense years I had in my life. Hearts broke, secrets discovered, perpetual memories marked. I have never felt so confused and excited in my life the way 23 Eu did. Maybe it was the pandemic, or it was about entering the threshold of adulthood… but it was a turning point in my life.

Now that I’ve been 24 for 3 months, it’s been a different ride. I’m a different Eu. It’s been wild, but I’m so more in touch with myself. I’ve been thinking about my future, my wealth, my legacy. I’ve been thinking about my childhood dreams and how much time is left to value them. This is the start of my mid-20s, and I’m both scared and thrilled.

It’s a different kind of bright. I’m sure the sun is with me along the way, the way Lorde taught me. It’s funny how her albums match precisely with the themes of my life. We’re the same age, after all.

Forgive me. I’m all over the place. I’m expressing my thoughts as raw as possible.

Anyway, I decided to share this with you all since you’ve been such good support to my thoughts and inner musing. I’m delighted to see what the rest of the months would be for a 24-year old Eu.

It’s 5:21 PM. Okay, back to business.


The soundtrack I used is composed by Jon Brion called "Consolation and Reconcile" for the film, "Lady Bird"


personal contemplation.png

Eu

Thank you for swimming freely in my random thoughts. My name is Eu, and I am happy to have known you spent a little bit of your time reading my personal contemplations. I hope you enjoy my endeavor on making this platform somewhat a diary for my significant experiences. I also do blogs on my travels, volunteerism, teaching, entrepreneurship, self-improvement, and literature. If you like this, do check my other posts.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

My skin has darkened, my wallet empty, but my heart is whole.

So me. Bahalag empty ang waller bsta happy. Very well written Eu. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

Yes, in wealth and poverty, bathe under the sun.

Good for the skin and good for the heart

You should definitely get into -and make podcasts.

You have been such constant support since my intro post! Thanks, @asasiklause !

A lot of people were very supportive of me since I onboard here and I'm just returning it to those who are new. Lets make Hive a better place and support one another!

That was really well done.

Nice work man, and cheers to 24!

🍻

Thanks a lot, man!

Happy birthday to you, in reflection we get to know more of ourselves

That is really true.

Congratulations @eudadol! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day

This is a beautiful post and video! This is not an easy time to be in the 20s but enjoy each and every moment of being 24 - a piece of advice I need to listen to as well since I live inside my head most of the time. I wish I could go back in time and have a deep conversation with my 20s self.

I think the 20s is my favorite age. I know the next decades will be something monumental as well but there's something with discovering your path and sacrificing other tracks that make it poetic