You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Think like a leader: Week eight

in Self Improvement2 years ago

I believe it is not everyone that can actually be put in the role of leadership.

Most, could, do it...but choose not to. Most leaders aren't really doing it right either. There's many misconceptions about leadership.

When situations arise where the leader cannot be there to make certain decisions or even perform certain actions, it is the individual that thinks like a leader that would be able to step in

It is the responsibility of the leader to multi-skill the team, and empower them to want to step up in his/her absence. That's called operational integrity or depth.

I never started out as the department's leader (Head of Class), but that's the position I have held

Sometimes leadership finds the right people and those, even despite not wishing the role, use natural ability and acquired skills to do the job. It's those who seek better understanding, knowledge and clarity that do it best. Of course, building a structure around harmony and trust is the best way to go, and that's where some leaders come unstuck.

I am not the best at actually being harmonious with people

Get good at it.

I would admit. In fact, I usually feel inclined to want to work alone,

No man or woman is self-made. None.

You like the super-long comments huh? I don't know where you find the time.

Sort:  

Yes, there actually are many misconceptions about leadership. And seeking understanding, knowledge and clarity will sure help one do better.

I don't know where you find the time.

Not that I do like long comments. I just find myself expressing my thoughts so much sometimes. It actually doesn't take me long, most times, to type them down.

Expressing yourself isn't a bad thing, I didn't intend to indicate that it was, or that you were doing anything wrong. It's better you do so, express yourself, than not; if there's something to say, say it. If there's not, then not. A simple strategy huh?

Yeah, it's quite a simple strategy. It sure would make things much easier if people just acted accordingly.

Thank you for clarifying, sir. Good afternoon.