"Lights, Camera, Victory 📸: My Unforgettable Grade 11 Film Festival Win"

received_623625072885620.jpeg

Hello guys!!!! Another free day, another blog hihi ~ it's me again, haruki.tls123 once more back with a new blog ❤️. So, I had decided to write this blog all because of a totally random encounter. Basically, I'm just walking around, minding my own business, when out of nowhere, someone passes by and goes, "Hey, Mr. President, you've got some serious acting skills!!" ... I feel that this person is maybe a schoolmate because, seriously, who else calls me Mr. President out of nowhere right? At that moment, it got me reminded about my very first acting triumph back in Grade 11, which is also one of the things that changes my life. So here I am, ready to share and spills with you about it^^!.


received_3450111795208167.jpeg

So as for me, acting is also one of my jam for as long as I can remember. I love slipping into different characters and playing around, especially when we're role-playing in our room. But when it comes to stepping up to compete outside of school, well, that's a whole different story. You see, these competitions usually mean going head-to-head with other schools, and some of them are pretty intimidating. So, I've mostly stuck to acting just for fun. But even though the idea of competing against big schools makes me a bit jittery, acting has become more than just a hobby. It's a big part of who I am, no doubt about it ❤️📸 but I'm not good in acting though, it always depends on the time that is given to me on a specific play, if the time is not enough or the preparation was short,then don't expect that my acting was good huhu:< because I need a lot of time to practice the scripts and at the same time, integrate it with my emotions and feelings.

But then, back in Grade 11, something pretty special happened. I was part of a youth organization at school called BKD (Barkada Kontra Droga), which focuses on promoting anti-drug rules within our school community. One day, the teachers selected me to play the main character in a short film for a film festival. Now, let me tell you, this wasn't your average competition. Most competitions go through cluster and district levels, right? Well, not this one. This was big - it was for the LGU (Local Government Unit) of our city, the entire City of Naga. Can you imagine? The winning films from first place to third place would be posted in social media platform for the public to see, and that made me incredibly nervous, especially since my character was an addict. It was a heavy role, and I struggled to wrap my head around it. At one point, I even thought about turning it down. But something inside me said, "Why not give it a shot?" After all, what's the worst that could happen? Even if my face ends up on a big screen for everyone to see, as long as I'm representing our school, right? So, with a mix of nerves and determination, I decided to go for it.


Even though I was crazy busy during those Grade 11 moments, I still managed to carve out time for this project. Being the main actor, it was crucial for me to make space for it. First off, we were given the theme: anti-drug awareness. Then, my fellow members in the organization had their roles - some were scriptwriters, others handled costumes, props, and makeup. I also want to give a shoutout to SSLG from last year because they helped out with the shooting. So yes, there was a ton of preparation involved.

received_1104067616971295.jpeg

Once we had the storyline and script ready, oh boy, let me tell you, the story was something else. It was great, yeah, but it also had me second-guessing if I should continue with it. The story revolved around this high school student who struggled to socialize with others. He kept everything to himself, and to make ends meet for his sick mother, he had to take on sidelines as a construction worker. But then, something happened while he was working - he stumbled upon a package, and out of curiosity, he decided to see what it was.And that's when the trouble began. He lost himself to addiction, but we made sure to include the LGU in the story, showing how they helped addicts recover. This became the turning point for the main character, bringing back vitality to his family and school life. It seemed like the LGU judges appreciated our film since they were showcased in it, but honestly, I didn't expect us to win. We were up against so many other schools, and their films were amazing. But let me tell you, when our film was screened on that big screen at the activity center, I was both embarrassed and proud. I couldn't decide if I should laugh at what I'd done or be ashamed.

received_514486957241407.jpeg

The moment of awarding finally arrived, starting with the special awards. Of course, we managed to snag some, like "Best in Storyline" and more. But like I mentioned, we didn't really expect to make it to the top three. Then, out of nowhere, bam!

"For the Second Place: NAGA NATIONAL - SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL."

Like, what? Out of many schools, we actually made it? It was such an overwhelming moment for me because it was my first time acting in a competition, and to top it off, I was the main actor!!!

received_794657538284997.jpeg

received_518476109958447.jpeg

IMG20221118141546.jpg

IMG20221118120420.jpg

And that's why it's unforgettable, you know why? Because since then, many teachers have been encouraging me to join various contests, not just in acting but in other fields too. A few months later after that, I even won as first place in an acting competition at school.

FB_IMG_1709991445020.jpg

FB_IMG_1709994101606.jpg

It was insane! That's what triggered all these opportunities for me, and till now, I'm grateful that I listened to that voice inside me saying, "Why not give it a shot?".


HERE ARE SOME OF MY CLIPS IN OUR FILM:

IMG_20240309_202429.jpg

IMG_20240309_202415.jpg

IMG_20240309_202356.jpg

IMG_20240309_202446.jpg


This whole experience has been so incredible. From that unexpected win to the countless opportunities that followed, it's been a journey filled with growth, learning, and gratitude. Acting in that competition opened doors I never knew existed and gave me the confidence to pursue new challenges. So, never ever underestimate the power of taking a chance on yourself. Whether it's stepping out of your comfort zone or embracing new opportunities, remember that you are capable of achieving great things. So, when that little voice inside whistles you to try something new..... listen to it. Who knows? It might just lead you to your own unforgettable moments and endless possibilities!! ❤️

As I end this blog post , remember, life's a stage, so you must give always your best performance. Until next time, haruki.tls123 out!! sayonara<3 ❤️

IMG_20240309_223120.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing!! Grabihag achievements idol uy,Mr president is on the way!

Congratulations on your achievements, Keep it up

Congratulations @haruki.tls123! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Rebuilding HiveBuzz: The Challenges Towards Recovery

Pwerte man diay ni bataa mo acting, I really like your passion, thank you for sharing ❤️

wow! incredible! it means that everybody's hardwork paid off, including your acting! way to go!

Hey, congrats! With this, do you plan on taking the showbusiness? Either as an actor, or from behind the scenes?

Hmmmmm maybe HAHAHAH idk that's still not part of my plan but if opportunity strikes, why not? HAHAHAHA