He failed and he is excellent.

Who should set my expectations?
Failure according to the dictionary, is the inability to achieve success or to attend expectations.

The question who should set expectations? Should I do that which I love doing?

Why not see from my own view. Why force me to your ways and will.

IMG_20221201_112253_164.jpg

This unique pupil.

Back in 2014 I had a pupil in my class , then he was in primary 3 and he can not literally write his own name nor write the letters of the English alphabet at age 11.

He's an empty head .

I'm just new to the school and it's a new academic session and the boys previous teacher walked to me and said I'm happy you're here to take care these pupils but see this boy, he's just an empty head.

IMG_20221201_112304_992.jpg

Should I get mad at this teacher for being so mean on this boy?

Two wrongs can't make a right.

I'm already angry, I just gave some giggles and walked away.
Back to the classroom, I have 21 pupils and ran a quick diagnosis to find out each child's individual strength and weakness to enable me assist since I'm but a facilitator of learning.

My observation.

From my observation, it's clear that about 96% of the class could read, write and do the basic arithmetics wow this is great, less job for me right?

The total child isn't just by what his/her performance in academics tells , the mental health is another important area, the child's extra curricular activities and tapping into the child's talent is where excellence and expectations is built.

Be a solution not a fault finder.

What happens to the remainder 4% of the class? Don't they have areas of excellence? Surly they do but untapped, undiscovered by those who tag failures. Because they your potential is too high for them to comprehend they call you a failure.

If people are doubting how far you can go, go so far that you can’t hear them anymore.

—Michele Ruiz

I worked with this boy for two years and the story is different, he could write his name ✅, recognize, read and write the letters of the English alphabet ✅ he was at the time able to read simple sentences and write them too. The parents noticed the changed and they came to the school and demanded I coach the child after school and I simply reply I'm giving him extra hour 30 minutes free daily that's my sacrifice to him don't pay me.

Frustrating when even your parents seem not to understand you.

This particular boy is greatly talented, he's good at drawing and painting. But here in Nigeria, all hope is on reading and writing neglecting real talents like art. The mother went extra to keep fasting and praying for the boy to be perfect with reading and writing and threatened not to pay the boys bills him school in her words it's a waste. But I took me constant visitation, and encouragement to get the parents accept the nature of the boy and the parents later agreed to sending the boy to perfect his passion as an artist and they have happy.
From failure to excellence, this is selfimprovement.

IMG_20221201_112620_446.jpg

All photos here are shot I took last week on an art exhibition I attended.

Teaching is a calling.

Teaching is seen as something too simple by many but the task is far beyond the normal classroom interaction if you must get desired to. Sometimes, you are a miracle worker, at another time you're a doctor while in another event a father/mentor there are times you even become a magician and even more. Some times teachers are sad to be mad all in the way to getting the best out of the learner.

If you are teacher, a parent, a guardian please don't give up. Handling kids needs selfimprovement steadily.

Sort:  

Be a solution not a fault finder.

This is gold to be honest and I wish many could read it daily.

As about failures, we fail at something and excel at other things. If you look at the famous people from the part, many geniuses had failed at something and their teacher said they won't get far in life. You just have to find what you're good at.

If you are teacher, a parent, a guardian please don't give up. Handling kids needs selfimprovement steadily.

This is also very true.

I have reasons not to give up on any child within the past decade and half, I have been a teacher and working with kids. Love and encourage that which they naturally show interest for and step by step introduce new ideas, concepts which you feel would help them become good citizens and ambassadors. And same love and understanding you can redirect the child's attention to something more better if as a child he goes the wrong way.