You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contemplation of comfort and confrontation

My comments are few.

The more I learn about Churchill, the less I like him. Great rhetorical talent often hides a conniving soul, and the ability to acquire political power says nothing virtuous. But damn, he had some great lines.

Is it nepotism, or some other form of corporate rot, leading to this upstart getting in over his head? I am very, very glad I don't have to deal with that kind of nonsense.

Stress takes nay forms. Chosen challenges are good. Imposed burdens are not. The desire to meet the artificial expectations of others is usually downright toxic. As for me, I'm tired of stress.

Sort:  

Chosen challenges are good. Imposed burdens are not

True, true very true. I loved this statement.

Chosen challenges are those that are derived from our passion, so they keep us moving faster. Imposed burdens give us the feeling of helplessness

The more I learn about Churchill, the less I like him.

I never knew him, but I liked that quote (and many others) and it seemed to fit the context of my post. I agree, he was a great orator.

Is it nepotism, or some other form of corporate rot, leading to this upstart getting in over his head?

I didn't want to say too much about it but you seem to have grasped what I tried not to allude to in the first part of your line above.

Chosen challenges are good. Imposed burdens are not.

These days this is what it is for me, back in the day it was more an imposed burden I suppose. And yes, I'm tired of stress also, the stress I haven't self-applied and sometimes just stress in general if I'm totally honest.

I didn't want to say too much about it but you seem to have grasped what I tried not to allude to in the first part of your line above

It's the usual reason people get promoted above their competence. I've read enough Dilbert comics to see the pattern emerge, LOL!

Haha, yes, Dilbert knows all. ✅