Don’t you really have time or is it just a matter of priority?

When talking about this topic I like making a distinction, that creates a triangle:
-Mental energy
-Time
-Priority

When people tells me that they have no time for doing things, I usually, simply do not believe it.
We have a lot of wasted time during the day, that if we use it for productive (or familiar or else) stuffs, we could improve our condition quite quickly.

What time am I referring to?

“Time we spend at the toilet, time we spend driving, cooking, preparing coffee.”

Be careful: I am not saying that you should have your appointments while you are at the toilet or write emails while driving. I am just saying that emails can be read and drafted at the toilet, while driving I usually listen to motivational speeches or personal development books/speeches and while I am preparing coffee I have some minutes to get updates from my work, read the latest news, answer to vocals/messages, read a recipe for a new meal and so on.

“Mike I see your point, but I am overwhelmed. I cannot take that motivation with me”

Well, that’s the triangle balance. Sometimes it’s not the time that we lack but it’s mental energy.
I am making you an immediate example.

Photo from the author: this is me just before shooting a free shot after the opponent making me a unsporting foul.

I am a Wheelchair Basketball coach and to help my team, I started playing again. With them, I am having two trainings per week, plus the game once every few weeks.
I have recently been proposed to join in parallel another team, attending a championship of a higher level (the one I have been successfully playing for years). It was nice. My job is being appreciated. My Ego tried to become bigger but I simply and kindly refused.

Why?

As a coach, I need to be personally, mentally and energetically present for my team. Joining another team, even for just games and some tournaments would make my attention split in some forms and I would dissipate attention instead of focusing on my guys and girls.
At the moment I am coaching a team of 12 people, guys and girls, with an age span that goes from 13 years old to 50 years old, with different handicaps and then different requirements. If I am not mentally present 100% on that, I would lack of respect to the athletes that trust me for their sport and personal growth.
In my case then, it would not be a matter of time, but rather a matter of Mind Energy.
And what about fixing meetings, and then deleting because of other things scheduled?
Well, that’s something simply about priority: what prevents you to perform the requested activities?
Are indulging with yourselves giving attention to low level things instead of more important? Or are you ready to take full responsibility of your tasks?
Being consistent is one of the hardest thing to accomplish but one that gives the highest credibility and the best results to people.

Sort:  

For me, it is a matter of priority, my friend. When I say priority, it is how I do tasks from the hardest to the simplest in terms of work. And it requires more of energy, motivation, enthusiasm, and the passion to keep going. Perhaps in everything we do, consistency is key. By the way, I love how you reflected about time and being a wheelchair coach would give you a priority about mind energy. Somehow, this helps to build a firm commitment about prioritizing time. Have a wonderful day my friend and take care.

From hardest to the simplest, is not always enough. Always deadline should be evaluated and also, the eventuality of errors and corrections

So true, Sir Mike. This is so inspiring and evaluation and correction becomes a habit for self-improvement. Thank you for your time and attention. Have a wonderful day.

I think I lack in this area. Beinf all over is something I have tried to control. So difficult because I lack patience.
And you're right. We waste so many hours...

Hours wasted are a matter of awareness. "How much do I know what I am really doing and why? "

❤️👀💥

coaching sounds like a mentally overwhelming job for an introvert like me so i find it amazing to see how others are able to do it, much like being able to plot and use one's time wisely also sounds challenging when not planned properly, thank you for sharing your enlightening article about this ☺️
126142317_733047824288474_7710528549971745009_n.jpg
https://d.buzz
!ALIVE

Coaching is self development, motivation, concentration, and a lot of other stuffs. A cocktail t hat can make the coach grow, and also the team

@mikezillo! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ilovewintergem. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Non Ti dico nemmeno che fai una cosa bellissima, lo sai e chi fa queste cose le fa non per sentirsi dire qualcosa.

Concordo pienamente con tutto ciò che hai detto; credo che alla base di tutto ci siano organizzazione, pianificazione e coerenza... allora il tempo lo si trova sempre.

Bravo. Uso queste mie esperienze per ispirare, e ispirarmi. Quindi quando ho lezioni di vita le condivido.

E si, le priorità sono tutto. Il resto sono scuse

La condivisione è qualcosa di bello e speciale; nello spirito di condivisione si cresce!

Grazie 🤗