Misunderstanding And Character

in Self Improvement11 months ago
Hello Hivians!

It's been a pretty week for me,what about you?

Anyways, today I want to tell a story about how I was able to improve my relationship with people by learning the clear difference between Misunderstanding and Character!

IMG20230531144652.jpg

Prior to now, whenever I have a misunderstanding with people, I attribute their response to their character and never reach out to these persons even when it clear that they would help me with whatever I need.

I have lost a lot of opportunities and relationships due to my inability to separate people's responses to misunderstanding from who they truly are, their character. Until I learnt it the hard way!

Experience had to teach me never to attribute a person's character to the misunderstanding I've had or another person may have had with them.

IMG20230531144705.jpg

Misunderstanding is misunderstanding, character is character, know the difference and do yourself the better good of disassociating both. People are bound to disagree, we weren't brought up same way nor in same environment, so clashes is inevitable.

Going further, a person's response to anything is not a factor of whether they have good character or not, a lot of things can predicate their actions, character is just one and not all of the predictors. Past experiences can inform someone's response, current state of mind and mood can also inform a kind of response, etc.

IMG20230531144752.jpg

That Mr. A responded a certain way doesn't make him bad, he may have responded wrongly but it ends there, if you need to address him, address him based on that and never attribute it to his person generally.

Why am I discussing extensively on this, because a lot of persons have lost opportunities and relationships that way.
Due to the person's action, they painted some funny pictures in their mind and decided never to have something to do with these people, even when it's clear that what they have always wished for is in the hands of the persons in question, now who is doing who? They see other people get what they need but will never go for theirs even when everyone says the person is nice and continue to hold unto that gory picture in their minds.

I know first impression matters, I am a lover of this statement but also learn to give people a second chance, the second impression is usually not as the first.

A good person is a good person. Never loose relationships that would have been of huge benefit to you nor spoil people's names over encounters that sprouted due to other reasons. Release that picture and try again.

IMG20230531144743.jpg

Remember: First impression is not always the best impressions!

Thanks for reading, you can drop your thoughts too.!