You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Advice and taste explosions

Well, in my opinion, what you have done is much better than advice; accompanying a person in the reasoning to do, leading him to think about the pros and cons of a situation is not a trivial matter.
I think it's a bit like the story of the poor man to be given a fish or taught to fish.

However, I agree with you on the subject of advice, especially the unsolicited ones; I always prefer to refrain from advising; yes, I listen and if I can encourage the interlocutor to reason, I try but then I stop there, the choices are up to him and he has the task of pondering the situation.

Sort:  

We all have opinions on things and (for men) we tend to be problem solvers, and quick to do so. Sometimes women just want us to listen, and not come up with solutions, as they already know what they want to do, they just want to say it out loud for confirmation. That's sort of what happened yesterday, she knew the answer. I listened, deflected it back, she reasoned it out and said, yep, that's what I'm going to do.

You're such a good listener G-dog, and you have great advice, is what she said after. Lol...I gave zero advice.

Heh heh in the end you managed to give advice without giving advice... it's a kind of super power in my opinion!💪

Here's some unsolicited advice for you:

It's Friday and the weekend is here! (Almost) 😁

Eh heh I'm almost ready, I'm working on it... the finishing touches and it's published!😉
And anyway this is a very useful advice, but I thought like you!😁

They say, great minds think alike.

Eh eh You are certainly a great mind, I have a long way to go but with your words you flatter me, I thank you.