You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bartenders and hairdressers

"I have literally had thousands of students and clients over the last 17 years and it is near uniform that they "open up" and talk. They are almost compelled to do so".

My wife calls me "Mister sounding board" hahaha.
People have truth registers and they can feel if a person is open to a personal discussion.
Of course it is so much easier to speak to an experienced stranger and the most unbelievable truths in trapped lives are revealed at times.
You are obviously a good listener and I feel that all of these "confessions" are also affecting our own psyches in way.
Here's the rule that I follow whenever a soul lays down their life story in my ears.
"Don't say a word unless you can improve on the silence"

Sort:  

People have truth registers and they can feel if a person is open to a personal discussion.

I think that this depends on age these days, as I have noticed that the "internet generations" are very bad at evaluating people in real life - it is like they can no longer read human cues. Which makes sense based on where they have learned.

"Don't say a word unless you can improve on the silence"

In Finland they say "Silence is golden" but I think that most just don't have any tools to improve the silence ;D

Marian and I was discussing this new breed in town recently Taraz.

A new young neighbor moved in and the first thing that he did was to start borrowing my tools. Now of course I don't mind, but he doesn't give anything back.
He is a Web developer that grew up in an IT world and it's difficult to have a discussion with him as that world is all that he seems to know.

He borrowed my auto drilling machine and I heard the screams of the drill bits next door as he was drilling away at something at high speed. So I rushed over to see what he was doing, fearing that he will burn my machine out.
I had to spend about an hour to teach him how to drill different materials at the correct speeds. Job done and well done!

But no, about a week later he was back to borrow the drilling machine again.
Can you believe that he was drilling at high speed again?
This time I left him alone and after a while he came to ask me for drill bits as his bits were blunt. It pained me, but I refused, as my bits are sharp and I look after them. So that was the end?

No, I had to go and ask him for my machine again.

So, the moral of the story is that "internet persons" are very bad at life in general my friend. Their evaluation senses seem to be as blunt as this guys drill bits, simply because they live a strange quick fix, high speed life lol.

I think that it is a symptom of making everything disposable and replaceable. There is no need to learn how to use something if you are going to throw it away anyway. Perhaps it would be a different case if there was more of an immediate cost to breakage - like having to go and buy your own bits :)

Yeah, you have hit the nail on the head with this one.
That's exactly what it is, a loss of values and care. I know that almost everyone and myself have a need to borrow a tool at some time, but then you look after it and you return it at times in a better condition than you received it.

But not this new generation, as to then everything is throw away stuff and non returnable. Very worrying for the future methinks!

Very worrying for the future methinks!

Definitely is a concern. I hope I can teach my daughter to value what she has.

I am sure that you will.

I think the children of today are all getting lost in the online world. Shy and nervous in the real world, but heroes in their virtual world.

It started a long time ago and has progressively worsened over time.
But then again, the other side of the coin is that we work with many poor children that have no internet, or mobile phones. So maybe one half of the worlds population would be IT professionals and the other half would do all of the physical work and stuff.

Shy and nervous in the real world, but heroes in their virtual world.

I think there are a growing number who are importing their hero status into the real world, without the skills or gumption to back it up. They are getting themselves into all kinds of predicaments.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you kindly!