You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Megalo Box' Season 1 Review: Good, but a little repetitive

I loved this series. (Haven't watched the sequel "Nomad" yet.) I didn't feel it was repetitive as it always tried something new. I liked the main character and his coach. I don't remember much, but I believe the coach was my favorite character.

I haven't watched "Ashita no Joe" but I know little about it, and since Megalo Box was a spiritiual successor, I feel it had good allusions to that series. (From the little I know.)

"I would have enjoyed the first season a lot more if it felt the stakes were much higher. "

The level of stakes felt realistic and just right in my opinion. I heard that the stakes of season 2 are higher though. I never watched that, but it's in my "to watch" list.

"Sadly it felt as if there was more style than substance in the first season, and that is something I was concerned about going forward with it."

I kinda agree with this, but I felt the substance is enough for me.

I !LUV 'd this review.


!PIZZA !CTP

Sort:  

I think I just have to get used to anime again. I am noticing how different it is to anything else. There usually is quite a specific structure to the stories and how they're told.

I really like Nomad so far, I'm really enjoying the general idea of it so far compared to the first season. I won't say much more though. ;^)