Section 375 Leaves a Bad Taste in The Mouth

in Movies & TV Shows ā€¢ 3 years ago

Warning: Full of spoilers and has some "violent" reaction from me too. šŸ˜†

Trailer





IMDb summary:

A celebrated Bollywood director Rohan Khurana stands accused by a female member of his crew, Anjali Dangle, of having raped her at his residence.



Review

(21 days ago, I wrote this movie review. Am only posting it now. šŸ˜… Won't use my usual format in writing film reviews for the meantime. It's all freewriting.)

This is an Indian movie which someone recommended online. Of course I love the TV series Suits so I thought why not give it a chance? I went ahead and watched it to see what they do in Indian court cases. Well suffice it to say I found it riveting until it ended. šŸ’”

img_0.4882008801135908.jpg
Movie still showing Rohan via rediff Pages

I am disappointed with the ending. Of course such an ending always leaves a bad taste in the mouth. We're here to be entertained people! However this film just made me sadder with the current state of humanity. Yes I know it is a fictional story, but who's to say it doesn't happen? It can definitely happen.

I will tell you why don't like the story. It shows how ugly we can be. It shows how we humans are egotistical and dirty. Where in the film does it show the good side of humans? The female lawyer? The one who learned that she was naive and too ignorant of the ways of the world?

img_0.07351767865761168.jpg
Movie still showing Anjali via rediff Pages

Where can we see how justice prevails then? Ugh. The only consolation I have is in real life. Last year a viral local crime was videoed and spread on social media. It was brutal and saddening situation.

Recently the viral Tarlac killer cop (here in the Philippines) was sentenced to reclusion perpetua (equivalent to 20 to 40 yrs jail time). This definitely shows that justice can prevail. However this only happened because the evidence was so clear and was seen by the whole world. The video evidence made the case strong. If no one had captured the incident the story would probably be a lot different.

Take the case of the Marcos family who plundered the Philippines. How many people got salvaged and died during their rule? What did their family who was in power for more than 2 decades do to the country? All the good they did has been overshadowed by the evil things they've done. They have continuously lied and deceived people. They don't even have the guts to apologize and admit their mistakes, unlike the Japanese people who are honorable.

They spend their ill-gotten wealth to battle it out in court, to defend against the charges filed against them. One by one they are turning the decisions in their favor. That is justice in this world. Everything is based on evidence. Evidence that can be tampered with, proof that can even be destroyed, witnesses or people that can be killed or bribed.

No matter, when we all die we will all pay for everything we have done. "Hidden" criminals may escape their sins on Earth but upon death perhaps it will be a different story.

Yes humans are inherently good, but the tainted ones are everywhere. Everybody wants the easy way out all the time. People don't want to take the hard and righteous path. No wonder Jesus said the same thing about going to heaven. This is why I am disappointed with Section 375.

If showing us the hard truth of how we are is it's goal then it has succeeded. The last nail has been hit. I am thoroughly and absolutely sad for our species. No wonder God tried to drown all of humanity. I cannot imagine how immense His patience is towards us.

Oh I have not told you the ending. In the end, we find out that the woman lied. She was not raped at all but just wanted revenge. Just goes to show how no one is perfect. Men can rape and get away with it, women can accuse men of rape and get away with it. It is a fictional story but we all know it can happen and has probably happened before.

Few days after I started writing this, I even saw a picture of exactly what I thought of.

image.png

(I also used above image in another article on abuse of power.)

It's just sad when such stories happen in real life. To make us feel better, maybe I will just leave you with a song by Black Eyed Peas.


Of course there is still hope for humanity but after watching the film I felt like this song:


Yes the entirety of the film is not all bad, it has it's good parts too. Unfortunately I can only focus on the bad ending as it's what sticks to the mind the most.

Anyway, maybe you can watch this movie and find it amazing. Feel free to check on it and see for yourself. Perhaps you will enjoy it more than I did.

Do you have other films you can think of that ended disappointingly? I have watched a few before but just can't (or don't want) to remember them right now. Hehe. Feel free to also share your thoughts on this movie if you've already seen it (or not).

XOXO,
@artgirl







image.png



Read Philippine Condo Buying FAQs Here


Playasia - Your One-Stop-Shop for Asian Entertainment


cointiply_300x250.gif




DeviantArt prints here.

Spam or irrelevant comments will be downvoted if not revised upon warning.

fzo8b444e7.jpg

Written by @artgirl for Steemit / Hive
Ā© Art x Stephanie Rue / Lucy Stephanie


Join Hive thru ecency, Click Here!

@artgirl is a freelance writer/artist, online seller and real estate agent. My Steemit/Hive posts may contain referral/affiliate/merchandise links.
Contact me for your art, Writing/Research & Metro Manila (NCR) property needs.

For business inquiries, you can chat me up onTelegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

Join us Today! Earn CASH (thru reward points): Answer Surveys, Polls, etc. | Create Quality Content and more!

Order One Opti Juice from me to help you fight illnesses!


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem/Share for appreciation.

ā™„ Thanks! ā™„


Join me in earning BCH by writing articles or microblogging!