The Boarding School: Las Cumbres (8/10) - Ancient and remote castle used as a boarding school holds dark secrets.

in Movies & TV Shows3 years ago (edited)

image.png

Source

Amazon released this Spanish series a few days ago and boy it was a nice surprise for me. I didn't know anything about this series prior to its release but the premise seemed very intriguing. I later learned this is a reboot of a very popular Spanish series from more than 10 years ago called The Boarding School.

This reboot has a different story and the boarding school is a different place. Since I never saw the original series so I have no way to compare them so I can only share my opinion on Las Cumbres. The series takes place in a remote castle that was constructed at the edge of a mountain. This means, there is a huge and scary cliff right there next to the castle.

The area has very dense woods with a lot of ravens always flying around. The boarding school is for troubled students. Kids who have been rejected by other institutions, and their last chance is graduating in this extremely strict place. Since they tend to be problematic, and the institution is in a very remote place, there are really crazy discipline methods that are imposed on the students to keep them in line. Some might think these methods can even be a form of slight torture.

1.jpg

Source

Things begin to become unstable when the main characters, a group of older students, make a plan to escape the school one night. This plan will have a very tragic end and from this point on a dark mystery will begin to unravel that involves this castle, its past, and a strange group of people that have inhabited this area since centuries ago.

In fact, if you take a look at the poster above, you will notice a hooded figure at the center of it. The castle has a lot of secrets and there were also a few jumpscares here and there. However, I wouldn't describe this series as a scary one, mystery and suspense are certainly its main genres, not horror.

So far, the series doesn't have anything related to fantasy, not even paranormal things although I think this might change in season 2. The weird and crazy things are the result of unscrupulous humans with bizarre beliefs but don't expect anything like magic or vampires.

If you like the mystery and suspense genres, this series can be an enjoyable watch. There are a few silly scenes that don't add much to the story but I guess they need to be included because everything happens inside a school after all. The mystery plot will advance very slowly but it was satisfactory for me. This first season doesn't provide many answers, and I am expecting a much more explosive season 2 down the road. The series has a serious potential and it could become a very big deal.

2.jpg

Source

The best

  • Excellent scenery, the castle looks nice.
  • The mystery is intriguing and dark.

The worst

  • Time is wasted in boring scenes involving teen stuff.
  • The beginning of the series was slow.

More information: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt11709206/
Review: AAA
In numbers: 8/10

Sort:  

I never saw El internado, that's why I haven't seen this revival of the series. Have you seen Elite? I recommend it. A high school, beautiful girls and boys, loves, secrets, betrayals, deaths.

I never saw El internado, that's why I haven't seen this revival of the series

They are independent, it isn't necessary to watch the original series.

Have you seen Elite?

No I haven't. I usually don't enjoy teen series, I enjoyed this series because of its mystery. But the teen stuff was annoying. The mystery is dark which I like.

I plan to watch it!!!!