You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is this it? Dune 2021 Discussion

The problem with this film is that it is not a movie, but half of a movie. It's like Kill Bill, the first part by itself is inconclusive, it's not until part two comes when we can judge if it was a good story or not, however, everything else, everything that is not story, but placing on stage, is really great.

It's true that Batman Begins did very well, but they are two completely different things, Gotham City is not very different from our world. And I think the most important aspect to consider about a movie like Dune, is whether it has the ability to really convince you of that world. And I think it does that very well. On the other hand, about the story, I remember the first season of Games of Thrones, and I'm not quite sure that all the things were in order even after ten episodes, adapting GOT into a movie or two, what would that be like? It's kind of similar to what's happened here, it's a very long story, so it's almost impossible to do it all in one movie.

I know it's not the point to discuss here, but I agree with what you said about Blade Runner 2049, it was just awesome.

Good review.

Sort:  

Thing is, you're comparing it to GOT, a TV Show. TV shows are made for those kinds of stories. I could give it three or even four seasons to set up the world as a show. But it is a movie, so it has to be judged as a movie. I think overall we agree, which is good.

And yeah, Blade Runner 2049 is an amazing movie.

Absolutely, that's why I think maybe Dune should have been a TV show and not a movie. Its story doesn't seem to work very well for movies.

Either way, my friend who read the book says it gets better. So I am looking forward to it.