THE LURE | FILM REVIEW

THE LURE.png

A 2015 Polish horror musical directed by Agnieszka Smoczyńska.

Two mermaids, named Golden and Silver, meet the members of a rock band while they are at the beach. Soon after, they go to the nightclub where the band works, and the owner hires them and gives them their own show: The Lure. While Silver falls in love with one of the band members, Golden can't ignore her dark instincts.

THE LURE.png

The film, titled Córki Dancingu in Polish, is based on Hans Christian Andersen's The Little Mermaid, keeping the main idea of the fairy tale, at least more so than the Disney version, but with a darker, more uninhibited and bizarre tone; adding cannibalism, some gore and weird full nudity.

The Lure is promoted as a horror musical, however, there are no horror scenes, but only elements of this genre, which are even minimized by the music. Therefore, it is not a film that intends to scare at any time, in fact, after the singing and the music the most predominant element is the sexual component.

Honestly something in this film reminded me of a music video I saw a few years ago: Gecko (overdrive) by Oliver Heldens and Becky hill.

Michalina Olszańska as a femme fatale, seducing with her dark eyes and siren charm and Marta Mazurek as a love-struck ingenue who has a desire to be human, both do an acceptable job.

Although in general terms Agnieszka Smoczyńska's direction is good, the musical scenes are the weakest part of the film, the choreography work is not bad, but it seems a bit modest.

The Lure is a moderately entertaining film that I would selectively recommend.

If you saw the movie let me know your opinion and if you haven't seen it yet, let me know if you are interested in seeing it or if you prefer to see something different.

filmSpace.png

The Red Shoes.png

A romantic drama directed by Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger.

THE RED SHOES | FILM REVIEW


Cool World.png

A black comedy that mixes cartoon characters and real actors, starring Brad Pitt and Kim Basinger.

COOL WORLD | FILM REVIEW

Sort:  

Hi. When you use photos or other material that you didn't create, like your film pictures, can you please provide sources. [source](link to the source) like this. Thank you :-)

Hi. The film is the source. All the images I use in my reviews are from the film. Occasionally I crop or edit the image, but all images are from the film. I assume the source is the director, or the production company of the film. I don't know who owns the property rights to each film. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to ask me.

No probs! I'd personally suggest just putting a note to that effect under your post. I love your graphics but there are some abuse initiatives that prefer to downvote first, ask questions later. I prefer to say make helpful suggestions to new users. Best wishes :-)

Of course, your advice will be taken into account. I just didn't know who I should give the credit to for these images. But I'm not trying to claim ownership of it at any time. :)

Congratulations @filmspace! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!