🍿 Avatar 2 (Avatar: The Way of Water) - featuring Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana [Movie review #16]

image.png

Source

Hello movie lovers! Did you cross in 2023 already or is it still 2022 on your end? ❤️

In Romania are just a few hours left until we will say goodbye to 2022 so I'll take advantage of this opportunity to wish everyone a Happy New Year! and the best thoughts for the year that is knocking at the door. I know that the past few years brought a lot of challenges and pain to the world so I really hope from the bottom of my heart that 2023 will bring more smiles than the previous years did, as well as more peace, love and faith within all of us.

Anyway, while the period before the Christmas Holidays is quite crowded with lots of preparations, gift searches and people gathering together, celebrating the New Year is definitely a lot more chill, especially if you do it with your family. Personally, I've always celebrated these two moments next to my family and loved ones, there being just two exceptions when I crossed in the new year next to my friends. So all these days between Christmas and New Year are always fulfilled with all kinds of activities. One of these activities was taking to the cinema my sister, my mother and my boyfriend to watch Avatar 2 (Avatar: The Way of Water), all of us being a fan of the series.

I know that it's been a while since my last movie review and that the movie has been released 2 weeks ago and perhaps some of you have already watched it. But being my first experience writing a movie review after I've seen this in a cinema rather than from the couch of my homeplace, I really wanted to share my experience watching it.

Photo_1672219390105.jpg
Photo_1672219385518.jpg
Photo_1672219391703.jpg

Click on the images to see them in full resolution

Being quite excited about going to the cinema again since I haven't seen a movie in this way for already a few years, we reached the cinema quite early so we took all the time needed to check the surroundings, get our tickets along with the 3D glasses, but also some food and drinks to enjoy during the movie which lasts a little over 3 hours.

Photo_1672219381930.jpg
Photo_1672219381312.jpg

Click on the images to see them in full resolution

I'll assume that it's a quite cinema thing to see all the famous quotes written on the walls of the building. But personally, I always enjoy staring at them even though they are quite famous. It's also a good way to spend time until the movie room is empty and you can enter it to find your seats.

A thing that I heard many people complaining about lately, is all the ads before the movie starts which became longer and longer. Hence why, if you get the movie tickets for 5 PM, this one won't start faster than 5:15 PM due to all the ads and trailers shown before, but which I always enjoy watching because it makes me plan my next 'must-see' movies. For now, I've got my eyes on John Wick: Chapter 4 which will be released at the end of March.

image.png

Source

Anyway, back to our movie review.

Introduction

I'm aware that it's almost impossible not to know about the first movie from Avatar series already, but for the younger ones, I consider this series being amongst the best ones ever created where even if you are not a fan of SF genre (as I am), you will still fall in love pretty quickly with all the action this one brings because it's a sum of many genres, emotions and happenings that undoubtedly will make everyone enjoy watching it.

So while the first movie was more of a romance movie with a human falling in love with an avatar that sooner or later is forced to make a pick between his normal world and the one avatars are part of, the 2nd part of the movie will be taken to the next level showing that there is nothing more important than the love of family which comes with lots of challenges.

What very few people know though, is that Avatar 2 (Avatar: The Way of Water) is amongst the most expensive movies ever produced with a budget of around 250 million USD so thinking about such a large production, you can be sure that it's definitely worth being watched and bought a ticket for.

This one is actually competing with movies like Pirates of the Caribbean, Age of Ultron, Avengers: Endgame, Avengers: Infinity War, Justice League and Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker where the budgets were larger but where all of them managed to have incredible success and turn them into great series with a ton of fans from all around the world.

However, even if the movies mentioned ahead cost more to be produced, if we look at the top with the most profitable movies from history, the first Avatar released in 2009 still occupies the 1st position so there are plenty of chances to see the 2nd part of the series following the same trail.

image.png

Source

Description

Anyway, as I mentioned before, the 2nd movie of the series is coming with more insides from the family freshly created which not only that it comes with lots of joy but also with more dangers that didn't stop existing from the past when Colonel Miles Quaritch began a war feeling betrayed from the decisions taken by Jake Sully at that time. Only thinking about this part of the movie and I bet you already think of a lot of sceneries with many challenges, risks but also painful moments that could become real or not.

Personally, even from the beginning of the movie, I began thinking about the worst sceneries with the hope that I won't be surprised anymore because I'm quite an emotional person when I watch movies. However, no matter how much I thought about these sceneries, it was impossible not to get surprised by things that I never imagined which shows how professionally Avatar 2 (Avatar: The Way of Water) has been created, still having the power to bring lots of tears in the eyes of the public.

image.png

Source

I loved to see that the movie kept its style of having a pretty long film which can sum up the time spent watching 2 other movies instead. I consider it a really hard thing to build such a long movie where you keep your audience entertained without having the bad habit of checking the phone and seeing how much is left of the movie.

So yeah, for over 3 hours Avatar 2 (Avatar: The Way of Water) not only will make you not miss a second of it, but also make people get to experience so many intense moments that it's difficult to maintain a critical perspective anymore. Everything from the action, story, and special effects, to the film philosophy and ideology, will barely leave you some moments to breathe and realize what just happened. So it's impossible to get bored while watching it.

Opinions

I know that there are plenty of things that I could talk about when it comes to Avatar series but since I always try to avoid revealing any spoilers through my posts, I'd rather keep these discussions for the comments section where I can debate all the subjects with those of you who watched the movie already. But taking note that there are some young hivers on here who perhaps didn't watch the first part of the series, I strongly consider that it's important to see that one before Avatar: The Way of Water.

Happily, the movie is created in such a way that even if you haven't seen the first part, you can still understand who are the bad guys and the reasons they do all the things you will see, but talking about such a masterpiece of a movie, it's morally needed to take it from the beginning, especially that there are at least 1-2 more movies coming up from the series.

I won't say how much I enjoyed all the special effects and final results anymore as I'm sure everyone is fascinated by them from the first minutes of the movies. But what I'd like to share is that I always appreciate the movies that manage to break the border between the little screen and the people watching it and get into your mind and heart, which is something that Avatar did with both of the movies, but also taken everything to a level that will hardly be exceeded by a different film anytime soon.

image.png

Source

Conclusions

Hidden Spoiler for those who watched the movie

I know that this part of my article could easily be part of the "Opinions" section, but I decided to add it here with the intention of being at the end of the article and not get clicked by those who haven't seen the movie yet.
Anyway, this is more of a personal fear that perhaps many of you got in mind when you saw Colonel Miles Quaritch being saved again, so just like you, I really hope that the series won't turn into one of these who push their limits with releasing one more film with the sake of getting more money from the audience because it will be hard to beat the level they reached with this 2nd part of the series and it's a thin line between coming with something new or ruining all the other films creating something less entertaining than the current parts released. Other than that...

Avatar 2 (Avatar: The Way of Water) represents a show from all points of view which is not focusing on a specific category of people because you have a bit of every movie genre in it. Not to mention about the category of ages because in the movie room I went in, I've seen everything from 8 years old kids to 90 years old grandmas where at the end of the movie we all shared the same mood and tears.

Unfortunately, with more and more people becoming used to watching movies on streaming platforms since the pandemic started, it's hard to think that the movie will enjoy the same success as the first part of it that brought a new and unique world and creatures on the screen. But I think this stays within our hands and it's definitely worth to be taken in top next to the first movie because even after 13 years since the other one was released, it still brings lots of new things and perspectives that made a lot of efforts to be brought in front of us.

Have you seen "Avatar 2 (Avatar: The Way of Water)"?

And if so, how much you enjoyed it? Do you consider it better than the first part?

Details
Release Date16th December, 2022 (United States)
Duration3h 12m
DirectorJames Cameron
Main ActorsSam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Sigourney Weaver
GenreAction, Drama, Adventure, SF, Thriller
Production20th Century Studios, TSG Entertainment, Lightstorm Entertainment
IMDb Rating8.0/10

Don't forget to check out the rest of my posts too, from travelling to gaming, from photography to cooking recipes and more! ❤️

FIND ME ON:
Blog: http://gabrielastravels.wordpress.com/
Fiverr: https://www.fiverr.com/gabrielatv/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@GabrielaTravels
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/GabrielaTravels/
TikTok: https://tiktok.com/@gabrielastravels/
Discord: GabrielaTravels#0104
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gabrielaistraveling/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/GabrielaTravels
PayPal/Contact: [email protected]

Sort:  

Pirates of the Caribbean is my all time favourite. But I also love this film. I am eager to watch Avatar 2 soon. Hope that would give me lots enjoyment!

No doubt you will have plenty of good times watching it! Happy New Year! 🥳

Thank you so much. Don't forget to enjoy my photpgraphs in my last article.

I loved the movie, such powerful graphics.
The soul connections with the different sea creatures is so delightful to watch.
Wish you a very Happy New Year ❤️

Absolutely! I would rewatch it anytime with the same excitement!
Happy New Year!!! ❤️

It is amazing how this movie created. The graphics as well as the way of water totally bring me to another planet, I would definitely give Avatar 2 a high rate 10/10 in my country they prefer watching 4DX and I really like it, that is a good experience, but as the older like my mom she said 3D is Way better. A nice content dear! Happy new year!

Yeah, it's really hard to say something about all the graphics and special effects as they are all great and close to perfection!

I never experienced a 4DX movie but I bet it would be a crazy experience to do it with Avatar 2. Until then 3D, is more than enough for sure 😁

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you have a beautiful and blessed 2023! 🎉

I feel like this film has been in production for so long, that now it's released I almost don't really believe it.

Same here! But thinking that the producer has already confirmed two more movies coming up, I don't think we'll wait so long for the next parts as we did with Avatar 2.

Yeah they have been making the third film the entire time as the second one!

That's something new! Didn't know it. Thank you for the news!

Wow I have to watch this movie! Thanks for your review! Happy New Year!!

Don't forget to see the first Avatar if you didn't watch it already! Happy New Year! 🥳


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @gabrielatravels ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.