POV: YOU ARE WATCHING "STRANGER THINGS" FOR THE FIRST TIME

A few months ago as I was scrolling through my Twitter feed, I saw a post wherein about 30 popular Netflix series were put into a grid and the person asked, How many have you seen? On that list, I had watched only about 6 out of thirty. It was somewhat embarrassing to me. For the longest time, I always thought I didn't like watching movie series but the few times I have, I realize that I'm just lazy and I have to find a good one. So far, I've seen YOU which I loved, Bridgerton which is a binge-watch for me every time, Top boy, Money Heist, Squid Game, Blood Sisters, From Scratch and Wednesday. As a writer, watching good shows serves as great help because it makes my fiction better, expands my vocabulary, and provides great metaphorical references. So I'm trying to stop being lazy and incorporate it into my lifestyle because in retrospect, I enjoy them a lot.

Stranger_Things_logo.png

Image From Wiki


At the beginning of Last month, I started Stranger Things impulsively and I'm angry it took me so long. I went into it completely blind so I had no expectations. From the title and cover, I suspected it to be horror or thriller though. That was all I had going in. I've finished three seasons, there's just season 4 left. I'm going to be giving a rundown or recap of how it has been. If you haven't watched but you have plans of doing so, you might want to stop here because of the spoilers ahead. Fun fact about me, I don't hate spoilers, I check for them myself. I cannot handle the anxiety of not knowing. The only time I hate it is when I don't ask for it and a person goes ahead to spoil it.

My favorite thing about stranger things is the tension, I live for it. There were certain times when I was watching it in the night and I started to doze off but then something happens and all the sleep clears and I'm up for two more episodes. It's fun and unexpected in a way. For example, in season 1 when that thing took Will and Joyce Byers swore that she was talking to him, I thought she was running mad. But in the end, she was right, and he was indeed alive, trapped in the upside-down communicating with his mum. It felt good knowing that. On the issue of unpredictability, whenever a season ends and the gate is closed, I wonder what the next season would be about. My brother always asks rhetorically, "So now what do they want to show again?" at the end of every season. And every time they keep me glued to my screen with amazing execution of the plot. I think season 2 kept me more on my toes than Season 3 because, at that point, I was getting accustomed to the lifestyle. But the end of Season 3 broke me. What do you mean Hopper died???!! I'm still living in denial. I cried, I just couldn't stop it.


Characterization

About characterization, there's no single person I don't like. Although I find some of them annoying sometimes- Lucas in season 1 when he was being a dick to Eleven, Mike for picking on Max, Steve Harrington in season 1, and Jonathan just because I don't like his face. My brothers disliked Lucas in the first season even up till the first episodes of season 2. I don't know if I'm stretching but I find it racist that the only black character had to be villainized/made annoying.
I love how Dustin finds the adventure fun, it gives him an avenue to bring his games to reality. I enjoy how they apply the techniques to the real world. This is why your kids need to be smart. I like El and for some reason, I enjoy that she's learning words and is antisocial. I really like Will, he's so fine and tender. I always feel terrible for Joyce, she looks tired and stressed all the time. Jim Hopper is my guy. I loved to see him as a dad, protective and clueless. But he needs to cut down on his cigarette because, at the rate at which he was going if that machine didn't kill him, his failing lungs would.

I've seen movies with similar storylines - a creature attacking a town but none of them is like this. This plot isn't new but it's different and better. It's entertaining, humorous, and thrilling. I'm having a blast. Now I understand the hype and great success it has attained. I'm going to start the fourth season as soon as I can and here are some things I want to see
Hopper raising from the dead. I don't care how they would go about it but I need to see him
When he comes back, I desperately need him and Joyce to get boo'ed up.
I want more of Steve in action
I want to see more of Erica. I love her so much. She deserves a spot on the crew
El needs her powers back!!!
I want Jonathan and Nancy to break up😔
Most importantly, we need a back story. What Hawkins knows about the monsters, how they stole El and other children with special abilities. The pieces are scattered. I need a coherent explanation.

Some series I have in mind to watch once I'm done are Insecure, Peaky Blinders, and House of Dragons. Please feel free to recommend some good ones for me. Until next time.


Thank You For Reading!

20221016_081803_0000.png

Sort:  

Well, if it's any consolation, I haven't seen it either, none of the 4 seasons haha xD

Hahaha, Would you watch it?

Thanks for stopping by

I watched three seasons of stranger things, I ran out of gas when the 4th season took a long time to come out.

Why? It didn't stay too long. Is that how you leave movies?

No jor, I watch long movies, I just got fed up of this one, I don't know why

Congratulations @glitterbird! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I hope you truly enjoy this series. Is one of the best of its gender. Nailed every single aspect of the trama, locations, looks, music and trama. Good acting quality, major FX and of course thriller and horror just like the 80's can give.

Thanks for stopping, looks like you watch alot of movies.. Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks, and you're right I have. Haha