Batman 2022 Expectations: a PreView not a Review

in Movies & TV Shows3 years ago

220px_the_batman_official_film_logo.jpg

1 Batman 2022

This is a pre-view, as in a outline of my expectation of this movie. Making my expectations for the movie clear before I watch it, thus giving more context for when I do watch the movie and make a review of it.

1.1 Legacy

There is a lot of content, and very many arc's in the comics, essentially there is almost endless content there, so what they will choose for the movie is somewhat interesting, there is also a very large gallery of potential villains.

From what I know at this point about the movie, it seems to be dealing with Batman in approximately the same manner as 'Batman: The Dark Knight', which at the time I thought was a decent movie, but it does lack something Batman just did not feel right. Hopefully this movie will fix this issue, in BTDK it seems that Batman was a bit of a fool getting by on luck more than anything else, this should be fixed for this installment or it will be a bad time. Hopefully this will be fixed. Choosing Raz al-Ghul as the main villain also was a poor choice at the best of times, as he is in fact not antagonistic to Batman in the animated series, and I guess by extension the same could be true for the comics books (I have not read the comics, so this is an assumption). It just feels like Raz al-Ghul was never so much an enemy, more like a peer but not really an alley either.

1.2 Cast

There could be some fears that Robert Pattison from twilight fame is going to play Batman, though I do not really feel that so much, so I don't really have any specific fears on this topic.

A black James Gordon, that is a departure from the previous installments I can think of at the moment though I don't mind, not going to be a deal breaker for me. It seems to be a fairly solid cast as far as I can tell.

1.3 Story

Now I obviously don't know that much about the story at this moment, but from the pieces I have heard, it seems the villain will be 'the riddler', from the snippet "a serial killer leaving cryptic clues", that can hardly be anybody else. I am more interested in the fact that we have another story with Batman just starting out, and that it looks to be a darker take on the whole Batman mythos.

1.4 Atmosphere

This is really the thing I am having the most hopes for, a really dark gritty batman movie would be so fantastic. BTDK was somewhat dark, but then batman was a bit of a fool in that trillogy so I guess it does really count.

This is what I hope for batman 2022, what about you ?