You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'House of the Dragon' First Impressions: I'm not that impressed

hahaha I liked this post.

I'm a fan of GOT and maybe that makes me forgive any flaws. The last season of GOT felt rushed, I can't deny that, as it no longer relied on written material and in a documentary I watched afterwards, everyone involved seemed exhausted after ten years working on the series.

You who work in cinematography notice more details that many viewers may overlook, although in truth they are obvious. The CGI when the dragon throws fire at the corpse of a certain character seemed very fake to me. But since I'm a fan of the story, it doesn't bother me too much hahaha.

You're right about some scenes with panoramas in supposed exteriors, they're all CGI, it's a bit fake, when you look more into it.

About the wigs, just today I commented on discord, that it makes me funny to see some characters with those yellow wigs. But my fan side of the story is stronger and I forgive those details.

The other point , seeing familiar faces, the best known actors for me are Paddy Considine and Matt Smith, but a lesser known actor would have looked better in those characters, although Matt Smith is fine as Daemon Targaryen. I liked Considine as a director in the movie Tyrannosaur.

I would tell you to give him a chance until the middle of the season, there will be an important time jump ( between episode 5 and 6 ) and the actresses playing Rhaenyra and Alicent will be replaced by more adult ones.

Sort:  

I'm not a big fan of Matt Smith, but I can admit his performance in The Crown was pretty good. I think he does have the face for someone with malicious intent. Tall, thin, relatively skeletal. He has that deep look around the eyes. Maybe I can warm up to his performance here.

I think for now there's definitely a big issue with the special effects. I don't think these perspectives were all that necessary, and they should know by now that darkness helps hide the special effects, and big open bright spaces makes them incredibly obvious and distracting.

The wigs though... Those stupid wigs... Watching the episode felt like watching a court session.