You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Dead Pigs' by Cathy Yan Review: China's loss of identity and pursuit of greed under rapid growth

in Movies & TV Shows2 years ago

Greetings Namiks, I happened to see a Chinese movie last night although it has nothing to do with the depth of this one you saw, however, I was amazed by the art direction of it, I will do a review this week, I hope I have time, I loved how they played with those colors, just like you describe with this one and although the movie is about some chefs, it has nothing to do with dead pigs, it also has a background where they focus on contrasting everything new and industrialized with the old and traditional Chinese culture and I thought who understands them? They get upset if they don't stick to their customs and want to keep their millenary traditions, but every day their industries bring out copies of the latest models of the best electronic equipment in the capitalist world and live in a perennial competition to show their degree of technological advancement 🙃.

I found it a bit ambiguous what they want to sell. But I liked the movie, even though the performances were not very good, just because of that direction and the script I liked it.

Now that I read your review where you compare those ambiguities I feel sorry to make my review because you do know how to describe cinematographically that 🙃, but well, anyway, I never knew anything about cinema and I'm still around here trying 😅😅😅😅.

Excellent post @namiks I think I will look for this movie soon.