MEA CULPA || movie review

in Movies & TV Shows3 months ago

Hi guys, how are you? It's not Friday yet but I'm bringing you a movie review. I mean you don't always have to wait for the weekend for some getaway, right? I dunno but yeah, I see a lot of movies and that includes Chinese, Korean, Hollywood, nollywood....as long as it's some good stuff. So, for my first movie review, I have a crime thriller. I was so curious to see what happens in this movie and I've seen it and we'll, here are my thoughts.


Created by me using pixellab

Mea culpa is a crime thriller movie about a defense attorney who get entangled with the murder crime suspect who is her client.
For one, I watched this movie because of the different reviews I saw on tiktok and well, because the female lead is Kelly Rowland. So, I wanted to see just how good the movie is. And since it had legal implications, It was supposed to be a plus for me. The cast, was good. It was not that star studded but the actors did a pretty good job.

The visuals, was good. Personally, I don't like seeing movies set in a dark place especially if it's dark from the beginning to the end. Mea culpa was aesthetically pleasing buttttt viewers discretion is advised since there are scenes of nudity and obscene activities.

The plot was good. I am not well versed in thriller movies but I must say that mea culpa for one was thrilling? I didn't know what to expect. The plot twist were twisting. There were clues, little tips which may be more obvious to some but, it was surprising to me who the villain was and the accessory to the villain

I do have some criticisms to lay down or would you rather call it rant? Because mea's husband in the movie, I was rooting for him. I hoped he would change....i really was on his team even though he was weak from the beginning, he never stood up for himself or his wife when it came to his family. He was family oriented.... beautiful. Every responsible lady wants a family oriented man but not when it comes to you being weak in the knees when you're supposed to speak for yourself or your family. Did you know? I even cried for this man when he found out that his wife cheated on him because she suspected him of cheating. I was hurt on his behalf because to his wife, i do not care!!! Why did she cheat?!!! Even if her husband was cheating which he was not, she shouldn't have (and this is just my opinion) but as much as you owe loyalty to your partner, you still should be loyal to yourself, you know? In the end, this is just my opinion and what I believe to be the truth. As much as the lady was the female lead, I never followed her lead because she made some questionable choices and funny thing, apart from stopping the bad guys from doing bad, she was not still the good guy.

This may appear to be out of point but the bad guys (because I don't want to spoil the movie totally), only became bad because they were seeking revenge, technically. Most of these so called villains are most times, creations of the society and of a story untold..

Back to the story. Although it was supposed to be based on a legal framework per se, the law was barely talked about and that was disappointing but overall, it's a nice movie. I would give it a rating of a 8/10. So, yes. You might want to watch it for yourself.

you read my first movie review..what did you think? Forget about the movie, give my writing a review. Hahaha. Chile....Your comments, upvotes and reposts are deeply appreciated by @mesonia 🌹

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing with us 👍😅