Pan de Salawal

I picked a random movie to watch on Netflix. Usually I don't like to watch the other recommended movies because I don't want to get along with the hype. Basically, I am not a trendy person. I want to watch Kimetsu No Yaiba (Demon Slayer) or Shingeki No Kyojin (Attack on Titan) but I am not in the mood to read the subtitles.

Are you surprised by the title? Yes, Pan de Salawal is the title of the movie. I also watched on my Netflix when I browsed Pinoy movies or shows and I'm happy that I watched it.

Why did I cry? I'm just tripping char. It's seriously touching happily. But of course, as usual, I won't mention spoilers because I want you to enjoy the movie too. So let's get it on!

You should also watch the trailer here

Overview
This is a movie entry in Cinemalaya in 2018, directed by Che Espiritu. The movie was released in theaters in 2019.

Plot
It's about an old baker with chronic kidney disease and a young vagabond who heals the sick. Here's the catch, the child can heal when he hurts someone.

Cast/Characters
This is what I like about indie films because their actors are not mainstream, but they are legit good.

Aguy - portrayed by Miel Espinosa. Actually, ly I just saw this girl but she could be the new Niño Mulach. He has another movie, with him in Block Z (2020) and Elise (2019). But I haven't watched both of his other movies yet.

It turns out that he is a homeless boy who is recovering.

Sal - portayed by Kuya Bojie Pascua, yes the kuya batibot hihi. Sal is a baker who has kidney disease and is on dialysis.

Brando - played by Felix Roco. Bruno's son Sal's neighbor. He also has a disability in his feet, and by the way he likes Lala.

Bruno - Brando's father played by Soliman Cruz. One of those who had a disability, a lump in the breast cancer was Sal's neighbor who owned a meat shop.

Bruh - played by Juan Miguel Emmanuel Salvador. Bruh, Brando's brother who is also Bruno's son, whom Brando always orders to bring food to his beloved Lala

Lala - played by Anna Luna. Lala is Sal's neighbor who owns a pharmacy and Bruno's love interest.

**ARE YOU CONFUSED? HAHAHAHA!

I'm glad I watched it, the build-up was a bit slow at the beginning, interesting in the first half of the movie. I forgot to say that Sal is the one person who can't heal the sad but you really have to watch the movie!

It made me cry because if you relate it to real life, there are things that you really need to be hurt in order to completely heal and start a new life. It's like in love life, before you find someone for you, you have to go through a lot of pain. You need to learn to tolerate or accept or deal with illnesses before you get better and find something for yourself.

You won't be wowed by the story, but the meaning is still deep.

293686259_432213695492899_4238897509657881324_n.jpg

If I rate it, I'll give it an 8.5/10 because of the storyline. A simple message but has deep meaning plus the better actors they hired. I was impressed by Aguy (the boy), his dance was very genuine, and it was funny.

I hope you can watch it if you have time or if you are looking for a different genre of movie.

Capture.JPG

Sort:  

Wahhh, interesting ah. Madami din talagang magagandang Filipino Movie satin ee ewan ko ba bat ei ako nahilig. Napanood mo na yong Doll House? Gusto ko panoorin kaso ewan hahaha.

Ang kulit nyan eh, may comedy na di heavy drama. May mood kasi ako manuod ng mga movies or series. Pero pag natyempuhan nakakatyamba ako ng maganda for me..yung doll house nasimulan ko pero di ko pa tinuloy hahahaha. Wala pa ko sa mood panuorin eh hahahaha

Hahahaha maganda daw yaan nakakaiyak haha. Depende din talaga sa mood no any pag watch natin UwU

The title catches my attention, the last Filipino movie I saw was one called BuyBust which is also on Netflix, it was about a drug operation in a dangerous neighborhood, I'll look for this one you review.

I've watched buybust too, it's another good movie. I also recommend On The Job. :)

Congratulations @miconteangsabeat! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Semifinals - Recap of Day 2
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!