"Pitch Perfect 2" directed by Elizabeth Banks (Review)

in Movies & TV Shows4 months ago

There are a few movies that have inspired and cried in my lifetime and one of them is "Pitch Perfect 2". Pitch Perfect 2 is a movie that was able to get me attached emotionally to it at the end of the movie, it made me teary-eyed which makes it one of my favorite movies of all time.

Pitch Perfect 2 is about the sad, happy, challenging, emotional, and successful experiences of a group of college female on their way to redeeming their image and regaining the respect that they deserve from the public.

Pitch Perfect 2 probably has one of the best opening scenes that I have seen in a while. The singing of the background of the Universal Studious is very nice and then it is followed by the electrifying A Capella performance of the protagonists, the Barden University Bellas, who will be performing in front of the President of the United States of America, Barrack Obama.

I admire the energy of this movie because after the opening performance of the protagonists on the birthday of United States of America President Barrack Obama the next A Capella performance is from one of the most talented A Capella in Barden University, The Treblemakers. The performance is electric which puts a smile on my face.

What I don't get about this movie is the "take a lap" scene. I do not know what is the narrative between the characters that ends up in a "take a lap" scene. You, taking a lap because you suggested a horrible idea is a nonsense. For me, the repercussions of the "take a lap" narrative are negative, it defeats the idea of teamwork because if it were me I would double-guess myself or not speak at all because I do not want to be embarrassed in front of my officemates like that.

Of course, Pitch Perfect 2 is a musical comedy that has some hilarious scenes. One of the scenes that I found hilarious is when a "legacy" Bella is auditioning the members converse to each other about whether to accept her or not, the funny thing though is that the "auditionee" can hear what they are saying, it is kind of funny because Fat Amy reiterated multiple time that they are talking about the person and she is hearing everything that they are saying, funny.

There are a lot of impressive scenes in this movie, The first is the A Capella of "Universal Studios", the first performance of the Barden Bella in front of the President of the United States Barack Obama, and the performance of the Treblemakers. But is another impressive scene that wows me, it is not electrifying but impressive, it is when the character of Anna Kendrick accompanied Snoop Dogg in singing the Christmas song Winter Wonderland.

I didn't know what to think when the scene of one former Treblemaker member asking a Barden Bella for a date caught me off-guard. The scene is probably one of the few surprises in the movie since the two groups "Treblemakers" and the "Bellas" were portrayed as not close to each other but I take it anyway since this is only a movie. I thought the scene would end up romantically but it is not.

I am not expecting another disaster in that will be happening next because at the start of the film the Bellas already had some disastrous showing but then they did it again on another performance.

Then there's some yucky scene when Fat Amy is at it with the person who first asked her on a date. I cannot stand that kissing scene by the two because of that tongue-licking from Fat Amy, though it is hilarious, I find it yucky too, kudos to the script, it has its own way of surprising the fans. Not only the licking but the two roll over as if no one is around them and they are not in a public place.

Then came the scene where everything went uphill. The Barden University traveled to Copenhagen to represent the United States of America in the A Capella World Championships where they are up against Das Sound Machine.

This is where I became emotional because all of the troubles the group has endured on their way to the world championships has made me emotionally attached to the group and when they finally sang their rendition of Flashlight it moved me to tears. I do not know, but it made me cry.

This film Just Made Me Cry is a testament that it has what it takes to make anyone attached to the film and make them cry. It is a job well done for the entire film. It is indeed Pitch Perfect. And of course, the Bellas afterward redeemed themselves by winning the competition.

Before I end this review I want to say that this movie is one of the best comedy-musical films that I have ever seen. It is a must-watch. The performances of the actors and actresses are all great. The dramas of this film are very consistent with the plot and it will not make you very stressed just like any other comedy that is a bit heavy in terms of emotional perspective.

I give this movie a 9/10 because there's no perfect movie, of course. With that being said, I watch it once in a while especially the performances and the opening scenes and most especially the group's performance in the world championship.

I am glad to have lived in this generation that I got to see such an inspiring movie. I have this movie in my collection and I intend to keep it and show it to my children when they are teens and have the emotions to appreciate a movie that will be remembered forever once we are gone.

Thank you to all of the men and women who made this movie possible and made it one of the greatest comedy musicals in existence. A job well done.


Source of images: all are screenshots from the movie