You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Point Break (2015 film): It's just as "meh" as you've heard

in Movies & TV Shows • last month

I saw this movie in theaters 😂

It's a bad film, I'm a fan of the original film, I have a lot of appreciation to all the characters and what they did with this version was a disaster, the only thing I appreciate was that Brodhi is Venezuelan and the images of the Gran Sabana and Angel Falls, those shots were excellent.

Regarding one of the elements that I did not like, I can say that the scenes of the robberies which I think are just a great scene, but I think that time is wasted in the extreme sports.

I would never watch that movie again.

Sort:  

Yeah the extreme sports took a front and center approach rather than the criminality. The way that they tried to portray the criminals as eco warriors was dumb and it would have been better if they had stuck with the original story of how they were stealing to finance their extreme sport lifestyle. Instead they had a billionaire financier and only started to rob banks once his finances were frozen... that was terrible and the bank robbery wasn't even that good and it was also completely impractical that they shot their way out when they had something like 40 cops there waiting for them as they exited the bank.

The Angel Falls scenes were fantastic. Those were very tense moments when they were free-climbing. It is exceptionally unrealistic that one person, let alone both of them, would survive a drop from the top.... Why did Utah jump after him with arms outstretched? It's just mind-numbingly stupid. According to an article I read it is technically possible to survive a jump from the falls but you would have to do it in a very specific manner in order to dodge the rocks at the bottom and you would have to go feet first yet even then it would almost certainly result in you losing consciousness or breaking bones just from the impact alone.

Oh well, that movie is filled with physical impossibilities so I shouldn't get so worked up over minor details.