'FLCL' by Kazuya Tsurumaki Review: An anime that oozes with soul

in Movies & TV Shows4 months ago

Do you ever feel like it requires the stars aligning for you to finally watch something that you know you would enjoy? I've been there plenty of times. In fact, it's actually annoying how often this happens to me. For some reason, I just end up taking my time to finally check something out that I just know would instantly resonate with me. In the case of FLCL, I have known about this anime for almost as long as I can remember. I think there may have even been times in which I tried to watch the first episode but just didn't have the brain capacity to just sit and focus on it. Fortunately, as of late, I've taken quite a bit break from watching things as often as I usually would, that itch to watch things growing in intensity as a result. With this I have been doing yet another return to the world of anime, and finding a lot of new and older shows to watch. Some I have heard of and are still airing, others seem more obscure and required some searching through MyAnimeList, going through different genres and finding things that seemed more my kind of anime. I searched through three specific genres I knew I enjoyed: action, drama, and science-fiction. Navigating through the lists in search of something that seemed older. Thus, FLCL.

Why not finally give it a go, I figured? Something to watch while my sleeping pattern is utterly destroyed. Easy to digest, and a lot of fun. It turns out, it really is a lot of fun! I'm almost mad at myself for neglecting this for so long for absolutely no reason. It's rare that you find something that feels as if it is oozing with style. That goes out of its way to be different in the best way possible. To break the norms of a general style and pursue something for the sheer fact that it is possible. What's more surprising is how FLCL quickly came and went with just a short six episodes. Each coming in at about 24 minutes in length. Certainly a bit out of the norm compared to the usual 12+ in that era. But I think its shortness is what adds to its appeal. It comes and goes, it doesn't need to say more than it does.

This post may feature the odd spoiler, though I typically refrain from mentioning major aspects of plots. This is more a general warning just in case you want to watch this. You're more likely to find a quick summarisation of the plot rather than in-depth explanations.

FLCL

FLCL is all about stylisation. That means for an animated miniseries, it's constantly pushing the bar of craziness and fun. Utilising various perspectives and messing with its characters to convey their emotions in different ridiculous ways. It is a show that at times can look incredibly cartoonsish, and then the next moment look incredible. From the first episode you can see there is passion in this project, the love for animation and the talent that is held within its production. It really goes out of its way to be creative even when it isn't needed. Constantly shifting in style and holding a general fast-paced feeling. Even if the show isn't actually that fast in actuality. It's hard to describe how much soul this show has in it purely from its visuals, the screenshots certainly don't speak enough. This stylisation spans into expression in the characters, making a lot of the dialogue and events heavily exaggerated.

FLCL has a story that surrounds a teenage boy that lives in a suburbia, featuring a life that isn't all that interesting. With its heavy stylisation, a girl on a Vespa with a bass guitar comes speeding out of nowhere and hits him. The result of this is that it opens up a portal to a completely new world through his head. This brings in elements of science-fiction and even some aspects of the cyberpunk genre as it leads to a completely deeper set of problems: a world full of giant robots that threaten the destruction of humanity at the hands of an evil corporation. It's a very unexpected turn of events, but it really adds to the weirdness and fast-paced nature of FLCL. It's a show that really takes price in its characterisation and creativity. Constantly in motion and bringing in new oddities to add to characters. I think the combination of genres is what makes me really like FLCL. This combination of coming of age, comedy, adventure and action. Of course with the addition of science-fiction as well.

FLCL takes inspiration from a lot of different styles in the world of animation. In some ways I could make the comparison to even Tom and Jerry and other western creations. It stands out a lot in the sea of generic anime styles that plague the modern world. And even for the more creative, dated animation styles of the 80s, 90s, and early 2000s, FLCL has something very different in its visuals. There's a lot more to it even down to the expressions that are used. The exaggeration of movements that pulls the show forward. I found it really engaging when there would be these exaggerated movements, it pulled weight from the more serious idea of the story, making things a bit more lighthearted and fun rather than too deep. I really liked the ways in which the show would go from watercolour looking backgrounds to more realistic, gritty backgrounds. Sometimes there would be film grain added to it as well. For more context on the stylisation of FLCL, even the outro of the show is a series of 35mm film photographs from 2000, featuring a Vespa all throughout different environments in Tokyo. It shows that the animators really had a lot of fun with the show, using their own enjoyments in life to add to the depth of the characters.

I wish other anime shows could follow suit in how FLCL does things. The way in which it has such attention to detail in its animation, the clear inspiration and dedication to making things look good and engaging. And even if it results in less episodes than usual, is that really a bad thing if the quality is higher? If the style can be more unique and memorable? This is an anime that really has a bit of everything for everyone. And it's incredibly creative. Even down to the story, of which I think I poorly summarised due to how deep it actually is. There's a lot to take in with this show that comes and goes so quickly, where character development is near instant, pulling a bored teenager from the rural areas of Japan into a realm of sheer adventure, out of the industrial and isolated locations and into something that requires his participation in efforts to save everyone and everything he knows. There's no room for him to say no. No room for the story to stop and let him breathe.

But is that a bad thing? I don't think so. I think the six episodes are enough even if it has you really wanting more. I did mention that there are follow-ups to this series, but I have not seem them yet, and some are relatively recent so I can't speak on their quality of similarities to this entry, yet. I'll definitely be checking them out though and seeing how they compare and hold up. In the case of the first entry, FLCL, I can see why this is a show that is so loved within the world of Japanese animation. There isn't really anything else quite like it. And while it makes you want more, I think I appreciate the fact that it stands on its own. It shows what anime could be, how unique stories are appreciated. It shows that mixtures of genres can be utilised without going too deep into them and being just one or the other. How crazy ideas that don't really make sense (something pulled from the world of video games) can actually add to the world building. Making it feel more original.

I think FLCL is a show that ultimately anyone can watch, even if anime isn't really their thing. With just six short episodes (albeit several follow-up series around six episodes each in length and even some feature length films), it comes and goes quickly without being obnoxious or too fast-paced. I think the aforementioned use of different backgrounds lends hand in that regard. It doesn't feel like a show that is harsh on the eyes or mind. It's very easy to get into as a result. And the fact that it doesn't look like most anime shows means it is open to general animation fans from the west. I'd definitely recommend it as a result, it is a show that is oozing in soul.

movies-and-tv-shows-BANNER-03.png

Join the Movies and TV Shows Community Discord.

Follow our curation trail!

Follow me over on Twitter!

Sort:  

I knew the name of this anime but I had never seen it as such, so much so that I found out from your post that it has only 6 episodes. Although if I remember correctly, the last time I heard about this anime was because people said that it had inspired another one called "Keep Your Hands Off Eizouken!" where it changes animation styles and has a very frenetic rhythm, now I guess I'll have to watch those two anime, hahaha.

I'll check that one out too! I haven't heard of it before. I'm always interested in shows with more stylisation too. I love it, the creativity and difference in colours. I wish more in the animation space did it. Even in the west. I'm tired of bean face animation, haha

una muy buena serie la verdad.

Yep! It's great

Hello. Why can't I translate your text in Google? Please guide me
I am Iranian
And I am very interested in doing more
But every time I face many dead ends.

You can try to use Yandex Translate or even DeepL. That would be more ideal for you. I won't give you links though, you have to search them yourself online. Don't be too trusting and click on links in comments here on Hive! :)