A Father, a Daughter and a Gun. | Seul Contre Tous (1998)

port.jpg

Source

sep1.jpg

Hi, hi, cinephiles!, I hope you are feeling very well. Today we continue with Gaspar Noé's filmography, I couldn't hold it too long, I'm intrigued by this film I'm going to see today: Seul Contre Tous (1998). I didn't look for a lot of information so as not to find any previews, with what I know, it's enough for me (it's "supposed" to be the development or continuation of the short Flesh). At the end I will look for the points and that, right now I was lucky enough that as soon as I put the name, I got the site to see it, which coincidentally, is the same as the previous one. So I remind you, my dear Hivers, that I will be doing "reaction-writing" and that the screenshots will be taken by me, while I am watching the movie. So without further ado, let's get started!

sep2.jpg

Buenas, buenas, cinéfilos, espero que se encuentren muy bien. Hoy seguimos con la filmografía de Gaspar Noé, no me aguanté mucho, me tiene intrigada justo este film que veré hoy: Seul Contre Tous (1998). No busqué mucha información para no encontrarme adelantos, ya con lo que sé, me basta y sobra (se “supone” que el desarrollo o continuación del corto Carne). Al final buscaré los puntos y eso, ahorita corrí con la suerte de que apenas puse el nombre, me salió el sitio para poder verla, que casualmente, es el mismo que el anterior. Así que les recuerdo, mis queridos Hivers, que estaré haciendo “reacción-escribir” y que las capturas de pantallas serán realizadas por mí, mientras voy viendo la película. Así que sin darle más largas al asunto, ¡comencemos!

sep1.jpg

a1.jpg

sep1.jpg

This time I was careful to turn down the volume so as not to jump up and down at the beginning, and thank goodness because as usual, it starts off strong. Ok, we start with a huge word: MORAL, I guess it will be divided into acts. Oops, it starts with a very philosophical question but answered somewhat... questionable, although justifiable (I make -a big parenthesis- a brief pause: apparently it doesn't matter the time or the place, like the more money, the more power people have but, well, I'd better stop there because it would go into another longer and deeper topic that has nothing to do with the film). Which gives rise to another "act": JUSTICE. Mmm, it was kind of the preamble, I like that opener. But the beginning really, I love it; the way he tells his whole story... I loved it.

sep2.jpg

Esta vez sí tuve cuidado de bajar el volumen para no brincar apenas al inicio, y menos mal porque como es habitual, comienza fuerte. Ok, arrancamos con una palabra enorme: MORAL, supongo que estará dividido en actos. Uy, arranca de una con una pregunta muy filosófica pero respondida un tanto… cuestionable, aunque justificable (Hago –un gran paréntesis- una breve pausa: al parecer no importa el tiempo ni el lugar, como que mientras más plata, más poder poseen las personas pero, bueno, ahí mejor la paro porque entraría en otro tema más largo y profundo que no tiene nada que ver con la película). Lo que da pie a otro “acto”, ¿será?: JUSTICIA. Mmm, como que era el preámbulo, me agrada ese abreboca. Pero el inicio de verdad, me encanta; a manera en que va contando toda su historia… lo amé.

sep1.jpg

a2.jpg

sep1.jpg

I still don't like the butcher's mistress, I still don't like the fat woman, she's still a freeloader. Well, it's not that the butcher is a spring sunshine but at least he's not screwing her around. It is curious how Gaspar tries to make us feel sympathy for a monster. The reflection of death is extremely crude and cruel, but here we have another point of convergence, what he says, for me, has a reason so real that not many have the courage to say it as it is. Ok, it's obviously wrong that what he did to the fat woman gave me a bit of a kick, but a small one.

sep2.jpg

La amante del carnicero, la gorda, no deja de caerme mal, sigue siendo una aprovechadora. Bueno, no es que el carnicero sea un sol de primavera pero al menos no la anda jodiendo. Es curiosa la forma en que Gaspar busca hacer sentir simpatía por un monstruo. La reflexión de la muerte es sumamente cruda y cruel, pero aquí tenemos otro punto de convergencia, lo que dice, para mí, tiene una razón tan real que no muchos tienen el valor de decirlo tal cual es. Ok, obvio está mal que me haya dado un medio gustico lo que le hizo a la gorda, pero uno chiquitico.

sep1.jpg

a3.jpg

sep1.jpg

Seeing not only how he is decaying but rather surfacing his true personality, I find it fascinating; also to observe all that it costs him to start from scratch, it's something desperate, many of us have gone through that but it's sadder and harder to go through it all alone and that your supposed friends turn their backs on you. How much round and screaming is inside the mind of a ruined man? A lot, behind that immutable but strong face, hides a world of frustration and helplessness; in a way, I still understand. Ok, that warning so suddenly shocked me and now I have doubts about what can happen that is worse, what will emerge at the end of the countdown, I love the tension it puts on him! Ok, it wasn't as bad as I imagined... WHAT, DID HE REALLY DO THAT, DID HE REALLY SAY THAT, "Acts are irreversible..." ay, but what timing, thank goodness he thought that, what a bastard, I love it; what a show of thoughts, a mega psychotic break, brutal. He's at a fucking dead end.

sep2.jpg

Ver no solo cómo va decayendo sino más bien aflorando su verdadera personalidad, me resulta fascinante; también observar todo lo que le cuesta comenzar de cero, es algo desesperante, muchos hemos pasado por eso pero es más triste y difícil pasarlo completamente solo y que tus supuestos amigos te den la espalda. ¿Cuánto ronda y gritos hay dentro de la mente de un hombre arruinado? Muchísimo, tras esa inmutable pero fuerte cara, se esconde un mundo de frustración e impotencia; en cierto modo, sigo comprendiéndolo. Ok, esa advertencia tan de repente me impactó y ahora tengo dudas sobre ¿qué pueden pasar que sea peor?, ¿qué surgirá al final de la cuenta regresiva? ¡Me encanta la tensión que le pone! Ok, no fue tan “malo” como me imaginaba… ¿QUÉ?, ¿EN SERIO HIZO ESO? ¿EN SERIO DIJO ESO? “Los actos son irreversibles…” ay, pero que oportuno, menos mal que pensó eso, que desgraciado, me encanta; que espectáculo de pensamientos, un mega brote psicótico, brutal. Está en un maldito callejón sin salida.

sep1.jpg

a4.jpg

sep1.jpg

HE'S AN OLD BASTARD! Gaspar... he's unhinged. How he plays with emotions. I swore the butcher had really done all that, but just as he wiped himself off the map, I remembered he couldn't have died, but it was so real I doubted it! He's a genius, he really is, he really killed it with this film. To touch in such a way an almost everyday problem is sensational. I imagine that at that time it must have given a lot to talk about, and rightly so. And in spite of that, it was very well received, 7/10 approximately and 88% of the viewers liked it, according to the relevant sources (although personally, I'm more guided by IMDb).

sep2.jpg

¡ES UN VIEJO BASTARDO! Gaspar… es un desquiciado. Cómo juega con las emociones. Juraba que el carnicero en verdad había hecho todo eso, pero justo al momento de borrarse él mismo del mapa, recordé que no podía haber muerto ¡pero fue tan real que hasta dudé! Es un genio, en serio que sí, se botó con este film. Tocar de esa manera un problema casi que cotidiano, es sensacional. Me imagino que en ese entonces tuvo que dar muchísimo de qué hablar y con razón. Y a pesar de eso tuvo mucha aceptación, 7/10 aproximadamente y a un 88% de los espectadores les gustó, esto según las pertinentes fuentes (aunque en lo personal, me guío más por la de IMDb).


datos.jpg


sep1.jpg

22.jpg

sep1.jpg

Returning to the subject, it still disturbs me, although not as much as before, that nothing was said about Cynthia's mental condition. Ok, the broad is bad, you can tell, but that as they left it in shot number 10 but highlighted in fluorescent colors, which makes it even sicker that incestuous act, which although they show that she accepts it, we must not leave aside that maybe it's because of her same mental condition and maybe that's why she doesn't distinguish it. But the point is... nothing, I loved it, just that. Gaspar sublimely shows how he would be an example of a totally defeated and rotten man in many ways, and even better because he went beyond the simple facts, we can hear and feel that frustration that more than one has been passed, at least, five of those mental dialogues. Act of bravery, cowardice or simple aberration? I do not know, and I am not the best to judge that, it is simply one of the many lives that exist, they are out there, maybe with an acquaintance or maybe we run with the "luck" of not knowing someone in those conditions, because the truth is very unfortunate. And well, to finish, I hope that the next time I start watching another movie, my internet and/or electricity don't get like today (I started at 9 am and finished watching it at 2:30 pm to get it set up after 5 pm). Hopefully I will continue to be amazed by this director's material and thus end up earning a space in my cinephile heart. And as I always say: "If you haven't seen it, see it, and if you have already seen it, see it again, you can't miss anything". I'll see you in a future post, bye!

sep2.jpg

Retomando el tema, me sigue inquietando, aunque no tanto como antes, que no se dijo nada sobre la condición mental de Cynthia. Ok, la tipa está mal, se nota, pero eso como lo dejaron en el plano número 10 pero resaltado en colores fluorescentes, lo cual hace que sea aún más enfermo ese acto incestuoso, que aunque muestran que ella lo acepta, no hay que dejar de lado que quizás sea por su misma condición mental y tal vez por eso no lo distinga. Pero el punto es que… nada, me encantó, solo eso. Gaspar muestra sublimemente cómo sería un ejemplo de un hombre totalmente derrotado y podrido en muchos sentidos, y mejor aún porque fue más allá de los simples hechos, podemos escuchar y sentir esa frustración que a más de uno se le ha pasado, al menos, cinco de esos diálogos mentales. ¿Acto de valentía, cobardía o simple aberración? No lo sé, y no soy la mejor para juzgar eso, simplemente es una de las tantas vidas que existen, están ahí afuera, quizás con un conocido o a lo mejor corremos con la “suerte” de no conocer a alguien en esas condiciones, porque la verdad es muy lamentable. Y bueno, ya para finalizar, espero que la próxima vez que me ponga a ver otra película, mi internet y/o la electricidad no se pongan como hoy (comencé a las 9 am y terminé de verla a las 2:30 pm para lograr montarlo después de las 5 pm). Ojalá que me siga sorprendiendo el material de este director y así termine de ganarse un espacio en mi corazón cinéfilo. Y como siempre les digo: “Si no la han visto, véanla, y si ya la vieron, vuélvanla a ver, no tiene perdida de nada”. Será hasta un próximo post, ¡chau!

sep1.jpg

firm-.gif

sep2.jpg

Gif made in Pixlr X | All images are captures made while watching the film from RincónCinéfilo

Gif hecho en Pixlr X | Todas las imágenes son capturas realizadas mientras veia la película desde RincónCinéfilo

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You're back with Gaspar's filmography. Brutal this film. The butcher is despicable, but in his words (thoughts) there is a lot of truth. That uncomfortable truth. at the time it was controversial, today you couldn't make a movie like this, the crybabies on twitter would come out to complain, to ask for it to be banned. Generation of crybabies, what would the butcher say about them? hahahaha One of my favorites of the director, above irreversible. what will be the next one you will see?

Un película así estos tiempos ocasionaría una lluvia de arena por parte de la generación de cristal, jajaja. De verdad me encantó esta película, mucho de lo que dice el carnicero es cierto, es la voz irracional pero a la vez de la verdad que muchos se la callarían. Y a pesar de que trata de justificar su amor, no deja de ser completamente incorrecto e insano.

Y bueno, por orden de fecha, me tocaría el film Inter the Void, pero como ya me dijiste que era una locura visual, me la saltaré🙈 Seguiré con el orden cronológico, de ultimo pienso dejar los cortos.

The truth is that I saw this film and it was very aberrant, typical of Gaspar Noe's films, but in the end I saw the whole thing and I was entertained.

Strangely this one seemed softer than the previous ones but I liked it.