Abigail Film Review: Pfff...

in Movies & TV Shows16 days ago (edited)

It would sound counter-intuitive to be advised not to watch the trailer for the film Abigail (2024), but it sure is the safest way to not have the film totally ruined for you. With that said, I was very confused if I actually watched the film from the back of my TV, because it cannot be the same film everyone watched and most people have acclaimed.

1000378527.jpg

I used to enjoy the horror genre. The thrills that come with it can be, say, usually electrifying, although mixed with terror and disgust sometimes.

The Wrong Turn series and one of the Jigsaw films I saw as a kid, for example, gave me chills in my bones then—and I loved that they did, although I had weird nightmares sometimes. As I grew, however, I enjoyed the genre less with time. I realised that the storylines built around them in recent times were mostly unoriginal.

Abigail is a horror film that has yet another vampire story with a slightly different concept this time. My partner, whom I wondered when she suddenly became interested in the genre or anything remotely related, suggested we "see what the buzz was about" and enjoy the film for ourselves. And there we found ourselves before something that had us confused and appalled.

A group of would-be criminals kidnaps the 12-year-old daughter of a powerful underworld figure. Holding her for ransom in an isolated mansion, their plan starts to unravel when they discover their young captive is actually a bloodthirsty vampire. Google

Screenshot_2024-06-10-09-19-25-243_com.google.android.youtube-edit.jpg

I only watched the trailer after the film, but even when I did, I was glad that I didn't. If you have seen the trailer, then you have seen more than half of the film, and so the entire film is pointless. And since I didn't watch the trailer, I genuinely enjoyed the film in the beginning.

The storyline went from crime to horror and then to comedy. And not the funny comedy. If the film had stuck with the crime part till the end, it may have been alright. But the 1 hour and 40 minutes I spent in this film felt so long.

Screenshot_2024-06-10-09-19-55-768_com.google.android.youtube-edit.jpg

I think that the film's biggest flaw was the discrepancies in its plot, followed by its second biggest flaw, the dialogue. For example, I really couldn't tell whether it was daytime or nighttime in the film. Either we went from 3:30 a.m. to the scorching sun at 1:00 p.m. to nighttime in one hour of the film's real time or the sun only shines through one window in one part of the house...at night.

So many things didn't make sense to me. Since when did vampires start to fly? Or when did they begin to move faster than light? Say, it's what the film wanted to portray; where did all that power go when it would have made the most sense to be used? And whose idea was it to make vampires instantly implode in sunlight, and why was that idea not handy to the victims at several points? These really aren't spoilers because you'll find them in the trailer alone.

Screenshot_2024-06-10-09-17-17-913_com.google.android.youtube-edit.jpg

Motive, reasoning, and logic appear to have taken a back seat in this film. The characters made choices that normally wouldn't make sense, especially in terms of survival. At a point, I really just wanted to see how far and terrible it could get. And then I saw a woman thrown around, through walls and wood, with a stake to her shoulder at some point, walk out and drive like all that never happened. Oh, and she even fought another vampire in that condition.

I can go on and on to berate the film, but I'd rather not relive every single disappointment. It was only very surprising to see so many reviews applauding it. I guess we all have our perspectives after all. Thankfully, I didn't watch it alone, and my partner thought the same at every point in time I did. Soon enough, in fact, we started to laugh.

Screenshot_2024-06-10-09-16-14-632_com.google.android.youtube-edit.jpgScreenshot_2024-06-10-09-15-45-372_com.google.android.youtube-edit.jpg

I think the ballerina vampire thing was creative, though. Coupled with the eerie-sounding soundtrack, perhaps this film could have been a true scare with plausible logic to at least keep it realistic and enjoyable. It is what it is anyway. It's a 3/10 for me. By the way, it has a lot of gore.


Images credit: Abigail Film Trailer
Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I watched the movie a few weeks ago. I can totally relate.

I also didn’t understand the sun aspect, I thought everything happened in the night, then I thought maybe it went on till morning and ended in the night… I think she drove out in the night. I can’t really remember.

If I am not mistaken, there are some places where I expected the sun (even a little rays) should hurt them but it didn’t.

But yeah. Vampires are considered to be very very fast ( I don’t know about them flying though😂) and burn when exposed to sunlight or when a stick is stakes in them. And they can be special vampires.


One reason I don’t watch horror movies is because sometimes isn’t just logical 🤣. I thought since crime is related, it would be different.

It was not that bad for me. Because I didn’t really expected much.

If I am not mistaken, there are some places where I expected the sun (even a little rays) should hurt them but it didn’t.

Yes. That one too. I just didn't understand at all.

The film was just folding on itself, really. Assuming the comedy was truly funny, I wouldn't have cared much about its flaws.

This wasn't really horror to me, though. It was far from scary and gory.

After this movie was recommended to me by different people over a thousand times, I decided to see the trailer and if I'm being honest, I wasn't so thrilled. This could be due to the fact that I'm a horror movie fanatic and I've seen better horror movies.

Nonetheless, the plot is a somewhat refreshing one as not many kids play the roles of the tormentor in horror movies.

Still, I can't get myself to see the movie as I feel it would be a waste of resources, sadly.

On the flip side, this is a magnificent review Jay ✨

You might see something in it. Dunno. But since you already don't like it from the trailer, I guess it's lost a true horror fan. Bummer.

What else are you watching next?

And, yes...

On the flip side, this is a magnificent review Jay ✨

Thank you, Wongi McSpending

I'm planning to see "boy kills world". It's a movie that comes in highly recommended.

And you are most welcome ✨.

I didnt feel the movie that was that bad, I remember rating it as a good one time watch but I do feel it was sold to the audience the wrong, way, its not a horror movie at all, its more like a gore comedy

Oh, I see now. Well, I guess this one was just a bit unlucky. What film is next on your list to watch?

I love horror movies, and also thanks for the tip. I'll just go ahead and watch the trailer instead😂😂.
The movie sounds interesting tho, but not too scary

You love horror films? That's surprising.

Well, do you then. You may even enjoy this film. Let me know what you think if you ever watch it.

Yh 😅.
I'll definitely let you know ☺️

Okay na

The horror genre has declined quite a lot, only M. Night Shyamalan and James Wan have been able to surprise me nowadays with their works

I agree. I have seen the works of M. Night and James across different genres and they've been consistently good. I guess nothing exciting is happening in the horror genre these days.

Greetings friend, I have not yet seen this movie and certainly in social networks like instagram mention it a lot for the way they managed to recreate that, as well as other reviews that are not good at all and more when it comes to vampires, something that has to be very well worked and that you comment a bad view to it, no doubt I'll look for this week and see how it goes.

I'll be looking forward to your review, then, mate. You may have a completely different perspective on it, so I'm curious.

Well, I have watched this movie, I think I gave it a nice rate at the time I saw it though, but then the scene where the vampire exploded when it came in contact with the sun, I was now like "Wow" what an explosion.

I was surprised by it, too, actually. It was new. Got any film recommendations??

Yeah!! I do, have you watched "From" it's the kind of horror I like though very scary.

Yeah I heard it was awful lol scary movies are normally always bad but this one takes the cake

It does take the cake, lol. At least, I know it for myself...