League of Movies (Fifth Edition | Week 01): Grease

in Movies & TV Shows4 years ago


hrh.png

I am second to youngest in a family of 9 siblings and my mother, this meant that I looked up to my sisters and brothers and most of the times I went out, it was because they'd let me tag along.

This is how I went to the cinema for the very first time when I was around 10 years old, tagging along with my older sisters and her friends. We went to watch Grease, which was the most popular film at the time, I remember being excited and impressed with how packed the cinema was. A funny anecdote is that the film was class B, which meant that no one under the age of 14 could go in, however, since I was very tall, they didn't even notice I was younger.

I had an amazing time, I loved the movie at the time, perhaps because I was a teenager and that was the main demographic of this film, but it truly was a great experience.

[Source of the First Image]
[Source of the Second Image]


The Plot

image.png

Grease is a 1978 romantic musical film starring John Travolta as Danny and Olivia Newton-John as Sandy. It is based on the 1971 broadway musical of the same name. The film was written by Bronte Woodard and directed by Randal Kleiser.

The film is aimed at teenagers, depicting the coming of age story of a group of high school students in the 1950s. It's about greaser Danny Zuko, who is the typical bad boy and Australian transfer student Sandy, who in contrast, is a typical good girl. These two against all odds fall in love with each other during summer in a romance they thought would only last that magical month, parting ways in what they thought would be for good. However, they meet each other once again in high school, as members of opposing gangs.

image.png

Sandy finds out that Danny is different from the sweet guy she had met during the summer and she is desperately thinking about whether she should change for him, since "someone like Danny can't be with someone like Sandy". This film follows these two ex-lovers that try to flirt with each other and be together once again.

[Source of the First Image]
[Source of the Second Image]


A Fun Experience

This is a very cheesy movie with a lot of cliches, however, that does not mean it wasn't made with a lot of heart.

Grease is a film everyone watched at the time, it was such a massive hit that the budget was only around $6 million and it made $366 million in the box office, it was actually the highest-grossing film of 1978.

This movie is truly a musical, the numbers being iconic, electrifying and a lot of fun, I remember that the songs were very famous back in the day, and many of them are still relevant. I think it's funny that they aimed this film towards teenagers older than 14 because kids these days would definitely find it to be very silly.

image.png

Grease is very flamboyant, sometimes even silly, however, the charisma of the actors is truly contagious, one can't help but smile and have fun while watching this film. Perhaps I do remember Grease with a lot of nostalgia, however, it did give me an amazing time and I remember it quite fondly.

image.png
[Source of the First Image]
[Source of the Second Image]
[Source of the Third Image]


A Film for the Youth

I loved this film when I was a teenager, I was in love with Olivia and I desperately wanted to be as cool as Danny to have a girl as beautiful a Sandy. This film is very cheesy and silly, but I do think it celebrates being young, reckless and naive.

I remember my daughter loving High School Musical and I do think that film did for her generation what Grease did for mine. There is just something about silly teenage musicals and love between a "bad boy" and a "good girl" that never ceases to be charming.

image.png

It might be outdated, but it is still full of charm, the songs are still as good as they were back in the day and grease does bring back the wonderful memory of my the first film I watched in the Cinema.

Grease isn't a perfect film, but it is youthful, fun and full of amazing music numbers.

[Source of the First Image]
[Source of the Second Image]


hh.png

This is an entry for League of Movies (HIVE WRITING CONTEST): Fifth Edition | Week 01 - The First Time sponsored by @wiseagent

Tagging People:
I'll tag @anaout and @mjcarvajalp

Sort:  

I love that movie, I've seen it 10 times.

Good luck in the contest, @rnunez09.