You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'House of the Dragon' First Impressions: I'm not that impressed

Game Of Thrones was a memorable series until its fourth season, at least for me. After that moment everything went downhill until that rushed and error-filled ending. GOT quite disappointed me in its final point, this was perhaps the result of the gap between the books and the television series... although everything seemed predestined to get out of control.

I liked the first episode of The House of the Dragon, although honestly in the last episodes I have noticed a lot of what you say, including the special effects... there is a lot of fanservice to nod to the original story, perhaps to repair wounds, although in general it has been quite entertaining for me. When you mentioned the wigs I couldn't contain my laughter, hahaha, the truth is that the hair of the Targaryens does look somewhat strange, very smooth and perfect for a medieval era... your analysis is very technical and that fascinates me. I love these types of reviews!

I hope you can continue watching House of the Dragon, you may like it halfway ;-).

Sort:  

Yeah I'll give it a few more chances. I do feel like I shouldn't judge an entire series by one single episode, but it'll be hard to really pull me in for good now.

I think some fanservice was definitely to be expected, and it wasn't too bad, but I think it just lacked ability to find its own footing and instead felt more like it was jumping and waving and shouting: "Hey, I'm GoT too! Look, there's a breast and someone's face being cut off!"

It just wasn't for me.