[ENG - ESP] Bridgerton - The best predictable novel

English

This weekend was beautiful, I swear, it had been a long time since the University didn't let me have a free weekend and that's why I thought to make the most of it, although I couldn't play too much, I was able to continue some books I had left pending, like Lolita and Macbeth. In one of those moments my mom turned on the TV and in the middle of searching and searching I ended up finding this very cliché period series called Bridgerton.


image.png
Bridgerton

I swear to God that I was predisposed to hate this series, because its story is something I've seen a thousand and one times in all existing formats. Book, movie, manga, manhwa, manhua, light novel, there is no format where I have not encountered this story, some well executed some not, but all with the same ending.

I had already heard some opinions about this series, they were mostly positive, but they were from my friends and they have pretty questionable tastes (they like After, for God's sake!). But well, continuing with the story, together with my mother we started watching the series and at first glance I really liked the aesthetics, very much in keeping with the year in which it is set.

I will humble myself and say that I really liked this series, it is cliche, it is predictable, but it is well structured and has a very high acting level. To say that I was surprised is an understatement.


As I said before, it's a typical story, but I'll tell you a little bit about it. As the title says, the story revolves around the Bridgertons, a family with great prestige in high society, but of course someone must stand out above the rest and in this new social season that someone is Daphne Bridgerton who after having her social debut and obtaining the favor of the Queen (which makes her the diamond of the season) will live a series of events that will give her life a 360° turn.

It is a very predictable story, but there are several factors that kept my attention, among them the fact that its characters are very varied and that the story takes care of introducing you to them (at least the most relevant ones). They are all interesting and play an important role in the story, seeing how everything fits together and following their stories kept the series from becoming monotonous and boring, usually many movies and series tend to minimize secondary characters in the story for fear of their protagonists losing the spotlight, but of course secondary characters are necessary and this series is fully aware of that.

Another topic that I would love to address is the beautiful aesthetics and setting that this series has, believe me, you may not like the story, but you can't dislike its aesthetics. Its handling of colors and lighting is impeccable, so balanced and well-studied that it even scares me, it is simply a visual delight. Beautiful to say the least and very much in keeping with the era in which this story takes place (19th century), I don't know who Ellen Mirojnick is but I have to kiss her hands for her amazing work.

And the last topic for this section and the most irrelevant, and curiously one of the ones that most strikes me, is how well this series adapts modern music to classical music and makes it sound so natural.


Now let's move on to the pertinent and truly important topic, the story. I've already said what the story is like, the unknown is: how well executed is it? Well yes and no. Confusing I know, but let me explain, mind you, all this from my point of view. The story takes the course that we all know it will take as soon as we see it, but in it there are some nuances that I have not seen touched much in other stories of the same genre, of course some only touch very above, but I think they still have their contribution.


image.png
Penelope and Elois

As for example and without giving spoilers how conscious some women are in this series of what they are in the eyes of society: cattle, because in this era a woman had no opportunities unless she married a man of good position and for that they were educated all their lives. They are aware of this, but at the same time they question why, and although they know they cannot change the course of their lives, they do not tend to devalue themselves, and aspire to more. A recurring character in this theme is Elois Bridgerton and he does it well up to a certain point, of course later on this theme became a bloody joke and even irritating.

With this example what I am trying to say is, the series has a good development up to a certain point and after this a slight decline begins. This happens mostly with the main couple, for other characters it means a positive or negative (but contributing) change that contributes to the development of these characters.

I won't give more details because I don't want any significant spoiler, I think I have given my honest opinion and that's what is important. But now comes the million-dollar question: Would I recommend this series? Of course, I would (from someone who smoked the first season in one night), I have already said what this series is, a great cliche, you can't say that I sent you deceived to watch it.

Without further ado, thank you for reading and I hope to see you in a future post.

Español

Este fin de semana fue bello, lo juro, tenía mucho tiempo que la Universidad no me dejaba un fin de semana libre y por eso mismo pensé en aprovecharlo al máximo, aunque no pude jugar demasiado pude continuar algunos libros que había dejado pendiente, como Lolita y Macbeth. En una de esas pues mi mamá encendió el televisor y entre tanto buscar y buscar termino encontrando esta serie tan cliche de época llamada Bridgerton.


image.png
Bridgerton

Les juro por Dios que yo estaba predispuesta a odiar esta serie, porque su historia es algo que ve visto mil y una veces en todos los formatos existentes. Libro, película, manga, manhwa, manhua, novela ligera, no hay un formato en donde no haya encontrado esta historia, algunas bien ejecutadas otras no, pero todas con el mismo final.

Ya había escuchado algunas opiniones sobre esta serie, en su mayoría eran positivas, pero eran por parte de mis amigas y ellas tienen gustos bastante cuestionables (¡Les gustas After, por amor de Dios!). Pero bueno, continuando con el relato, junto con mi madre comenzamos a ver la serie y de primera vista me gustó mucho la estética, muy acorde al año en que está ambientada.

Me humillare a mí misma y dire que me gustó mucho esta serie, es cliche, es predecible, pero, está bien estructurada y tiene un nivel actoral demasiado alto. Enserio decir que salí sorprendida es poco.


Como ya dije con anterioridad es una historia típica, pero les platicare un poco. Como dice su título la historia gira en torno a los Bridgerton, una familia con gran prestigio en la alta sociedad, pero claro alguien debe destacar por sobre el resto y en esta nueva temporada social ese alguien es Daphne Bridgerton quien tras tener su debut social y obtener el favor de la Reina (lo que la convierte en el diamante de la temporada) vivirá una serie de eventos que le dará a su vida un giro de 360°.

Es una historia demasiado predecible, pero existen varios factores que me mantuvieron atenta entre ellos el hecho de que sus personajes son muy variados y que la historia se encarga de darte a conocer (al menos los más relevantes). Todos son interesantes y cumplen con un rol importante en la historia, ver como todo encaja y seguir sus historias evito que la serie se volviera monótona y aburrida, normalmente muchas películas y series tienden a minimizar personajes secundarios en la historia por miedo a que sus protagonistas pierdan los reflectores, pero claro está que los secundarios son necesarios y esta serie tiene plena conciencia de ello.

Otro tema que me encantaría abordar es la bella estética y ambientación que esta serie posee, créanme, puede que no les llegue a gustar la historia, pero no puede disgustarles su estética. Su manejo de los colores e iluminación es impecable, tan balanceado y bien estudiado que hasta me da miedo, es simplemente un deleite visual ¡Y el vestuario! Precioso cuanto menos y muy acorde a la época en que se desarrolla esta historia (siglo XIX), no sé quién es Ellen Mirojnick pero le tengo que besar las manos por su asombroso trabajo.

Y el ultimo tópico para esta sección y el más irrelevante, y curiosamente de los que más me llama la atención, es lo bien que esta serie adapta la música moderna a la música clásica y lo hace sonar tan natural.


Ahora pasemos al tema pertinente y verdaderamente importante, la historia. Ya he dice como es la historia, la incognita es: ¿Que tan bien ejecutada esta? Bueno sí y no. Confuso lo sé, pero déjenme explicarles, ojo, todo esto desde mi punto de vista. La historia toma el rumbo que todos sabemos que tomara apenas la vemos, pero en ella hay algunos matices que no he visto tocar mucho en otras historias de su mismo género, claro que algunos solo tocan muy por encima, pero me parecen que aun así tienen su aporte.


image.png
Penelope and Elois

Como por ejemplo y sin dar spoilers lo consientes que están algunas mujeres en esta serie de lo que son ante los ojos de la sociedad: ganado, porque en esta época una mujer no tenía oportunidades a menos que se casara con un hombre de buena posición y para ello eran educadas toda su vida. Estan conscientes de ello, pero a su vez se cuestionan el por qué y aunque saben que no pueden cambiar el rumbo de su vida no suelen desvalorizarse, y aspiran a más. Un personaje recurrente en este tema es Elois Bridgerton y lo hace bien hasta cierto punto, claro está que más tarde este tema se volvió un maldito chiste y hasta irritante.

Con este ejemplo lo que trato de decir es, la serie tiene un buen desarrollo hasta cierto punto y después de este comienza un ligero declive. Esto pasa más que nada con la pareja principal, para otros personajes significa un cambio positivo o negativo (pero que aportan) y que contribuye al desarrollo de estos personajes.

No dare más detalles porque no quiero que se me salga algún spoiler significativo, creo que he dado mi opinion sincera y eso es lo importante. Pero ahora viene la pregunta del millón ¿Recomendaría esta serie? Por supuesto que si (se los dice alguien que se fumó la primera temporada en una sola noche), yo ya he dicho lo que es esta serie, un gran cliche, no pueden decir que los mande engañados a verla.

Sin más que decir, agradezco por leer y espero vernos en un proximo post.