[ENG|ESP] Turning Red - an allegory to the period and growth

in Movies & TV Shows2 years ago (edited)

English


giphy.gif
Edited by @suyenhb03 on Giphy | Fuente de la imagen

Hello, beautiful people.

Let's jump right in and without anesthesia, Turning Red gives a lot of cringes.... At least during the first part of the movie. And before someone comes on here to funk me and make three twitter threads, let me explain myself. The fact that this movie has such a strong cringe doesn't mean that I consider it bad, on the contrary, I liked it more than I expected, I had heard so much about it that I was expecting the same thing that happened to me with Squid Game, that is, that I didn't end up liking it or being as impressed as I expected, due to all the hype that had formed around the series.

I admit that I wouldn't have seen this movie if it wasn't for my best friend, mostly because lately I'm not much of a movie watcher, I'm more of a repeat watcher of the same five good Netflix series and when I saw the trailer for Turning Red, I wasn't very convinced of its animation or its plot.

However, after watching it several times, I came out surprised. Yes, yes, yes, yes, Turning Red is an allegory to the period, but it is also a movie about growing up, about a girl entering adolescence, going through the worst stage a human being goes through (understand the sarcasm).

Story

Red tells the story of Meilin Lee, a studious, outgoing and irritating girl who recently turned 13, but is also someone who is constantly looking for her mother's approval. But when the blessing/curse that has been passed down from generation to generation in her family comes to her, Mei will begin to discover herself and must decide whether it is her mother who is in control or begin to take charge of her life.

Kind of dramatic now that I write it, but it works.

Let's go straight to what I liked most about this movie, and that is its realism. Yes, yes, you may ask, what kind of realism is there in a little girl transforming into a giant red panda? Well, obviously if we discard the panda part, we can realize that many of us were like Mei, children who were constantly looking for parental approval, we were afraid of getting low grades, failing an exam, because we knew it would disappoint our parents and we didn't want to disappoint anyone. All this can be understood to a certain extent and it's not wrong, but when you understand that Mei is a repressed girl who can't even go to karaoke with her friends because she always pleases her mom, you realize that something is wrong.

Most of the film focuses on growing up, Mei's self-discovery and the emotions and hormonal changes that come with entering adolescence. But the mother-daughter dynamic she has with Ming can't be ignored either.

This will sound very cliche but the relationship between these two is very toxic, Ming is not able to let Mei live, I do not doubt that everything she does in the film is done with the best intentions, from the beginning she showed a deep love for her daughter, but the problem in her lies in that she does not know how to listen to her daughter. Ming is not able to see that her daughter, despite being so diligent and obedient, is still a 13-year-old girl. Mei wants to go out to parties, meet boys, go to the damn concert and Ming cannot understand this because she too was deprived of these things, she herself mentions it almost at the end of the movie, she dedicated herself only to her family (Translation: I dedicated myself to please my mom at the expense of my happiness).

I'm going to send my dignity to the trash, and admit that I cried, no, I gave myself a severe shriek during the scene where Mei talks to a younger version of her mom. Because it confirms what you've been assuming since you see the way Ming and her mom interact and you wonder how much a child has to be deprived of her freedom to explode like this?

Animation and soundtrack

I define the animation of this movie as "I like it, but it scares me" Its animation is very nice I don't think I have a problem with it, my problem lies in the expressions of the characters. God they are so exaggerated, they are uncomfortable. If you remember at the beginning, I said that Turning Red gives a lot of cringes? Well, it's because of this little aspect, that and the existence of Tyler.

As for its soundtrack, I don't have much to say, we all already know how it was received. 4TOWN will be a YouTube sensation until a movie with better songs comes out or BTS sues them for copyright (bad joke, it is). I personally did like the songs; however, I don't consider them to be THE songs. They are very catchy songs, the fame and the army of simps they have are justifiable.

Conclusion

I consider Turning Red to be a very good movie, that knows how to deal with serious issues, without getting too explicit or demonizing any aspect of what is being talked about. I'm going to get flamed for this, but I think Turning Red deals better with generational trauma than COCO and Encanto.

It is a movie that I recommend watching with family and with an open mind, you will laugh a lot. I don't consider that this movie is going to become a Pixar classic (I mean, it's not Toy Story) but I could say that it's a success.

Without further ado, I hope you liked it and I appreciate the time you took to read this. Bye.


Español


giphy.gif
Edited by @suyenhb03 on Giphy | Fuente de la imagen

Hola, gente linda.

Entremos directamente y sin anestesia, Turning Red da mucho cringe... Al menos durante el primer parte de la película. Y antes de que alguien venga a funarme y armar tres hilos de twitter, permítanme explicarme. Que esta película de un cringe tan potente no quiere decir que la considere mala, todo lo contrario, me gusto más de los esperado, me habían hablado tanto de ella que ya esperaba yo que me pasara lo mismo que me paso con Squid Game, ósea que no me terminara gustado ni impresionando tanto como lo esperaba, debido a todo hipe que se había formado alrededor de la serie.

Admito que yo no hubiera visto esta película si no fuera por mi mejor amiga, más que nada porque últimamente no soy de ver películas, soy más de repetir las mismas cinco series buenas de Netflix y cuando vi el trailer de Turning Red no salí muy convencida ni de su animación, ni de su trama.

Sin embargo, luego de verla varias veces, salí sorprendida. Si, si, si, Turning Red es una alegoría al periodo, pero también es una película sobre crecer, sobre una niña que está entrando en la adolescencia, pasar por la peor etapa que pasa un ser humano (entiéndase el sarcasmo).

Historia

Red nos cuenta la historia de Meilin Lee, una niña estudiosa, extrovertida e irritante quien recientemente cumplió sus 13 años, pero también es alguien que constantemente está en busca de la aprobación de su madre. Pero cuando la bendición/maldición que ha sido pasada de generación en generación en su familia llegue a ella, Mei comenzará a descubrirse a sí misma y deberá decidir si es su madre quien tiene el control o comenzar a tomar las riendas de su vida.

Algo dramático ahora que lo escribo, pero funciona.

Vamos a pasar directamente a lo que más me gusto de esta película, y es su realismo. Si, si, se preguntaran ¿qué clase de realismo hay en una niña que se transforma en un panda rojo gigante? Bueno, obviamente si descartamos la parte del panda, podemos darnos cuenta que muchos de nosotros fuimos como Mei, niños que buscaban constantemente la aprobación de sus padres, teníamos miedo de sacar bajas notas, reprobar un examen, porque sabíamos que esto decepcionaría a nuestros padres y no queríamos decepcionar a nadie. Todos esto se puede entender hasta cierto punto y no está mal, pero cuando comprendes que Mei es una niña reprimida que ni siquiera puede ir al karaoke con sus amigas por siempre complacer a su mamá, te das cuenta de que algo va mal.

La mayoría de la película se centra en el crecimiento, en el autodescubrimiento de Mei y las emociones y cambios hormonales que conlleva entrar a la adolescencia. Pero tampoco se puede ignorar la dinámica de madre-hija que tiene con Ming.

Esto sonara muy cliche pero la relación entre estas dos es muy toxica, Ming no es capaz de dejar vivir a Mei, no dudo que todo lo que hace en la película lo hace con las mejores intenciones, desde un principio demostró un profundo amor por su hija, pero el problema en ella radica en que no sabe escuchar a su hija. Ming no es capaz de ver que su hija pese a ser tan aplicada y obediente, sigue siendo una niña de 13 años. Mei quiere salir a fiestas, conocer chicos, ir al dichoso concierto y Ming no puede entender esto porque a ella también se le privaron de estas cosas, ella misma lo menciona casi al final de la película, se dedicó únicamente a su familia (Traducción: Me dedique a complacer a mi mamá a costa de mi felicidad)

Voy a mandar mi dignidad a la basura, y a admitir que llore, no, me pegue una severa chillada durante la escena en que Mei habla con una version más joven de su mamá. Por qué te confirman lo que ya venias suponiendo desde que vez la manera en que Ming y su mamá interactúan y te preguntas ¿qué tanto se le tiene que privar de libertad a una niña para que esta termine explotando de esta manera?

Animación y soundtrack

Defino la animación de esta película como un "me gusta, pero me asusta" Su animación es muy bonita creo que no tengo problemas con ella, mi problema si radica en las expresiones de los personajes. Dios son tan exageradas, que incomodan ¿Si recuerdan que al principio dije que Turning Red da mucho cringe? Bueno es debido a este pequeño aspecto, eso y la existencia de Tyler.

En cuanto a su soundtrack, no tengo mucho que decir, ya todos sabemos cómo fue recibido. 4TOWN sera la sensación en YouTube hasta que salga una película con mejores canciones o BTS los demande por copyright (chiste malo, lo es). Personalmente si me gustaron las canciones, sin embargo, no considero que sean LAS canciones. Eso sí, son canciones muy pegadizas, la fama y ejercito de simps que tiene son justificables.

Conclusión

Considero que Turning Red es una muy buena película, que sabe abordar temas serios, sin llegar a ser demasiado explícitos ni satanizar ningún aspecto de lo que se habla. Me van a funar por esto, pero creo que Turning Red trato mejor esto del trauma generacional que COCO y Encanto.

Es una película que recomiendo ver en familia y con la mente abierta, se van a reír mucho. No considero que esta película se vaya a convertir en un clásico de Pixar (digo, no es Toy Story) pero si podría decir que es un éxito.

Sin más que decir, espero que les haya gustado y agradezco el tiempo que se tomaron para leer esto. Bye.

Sort:  

original-7700-1647288403-13.jpg
Source

Turning Red en resumidas cuentas, una película genial. Totalmente de acuerdo con que sabe mejorar mejor la idea de los traumas generacionales que Coco y Encanto.