The Green Knight (2021) - a masterpiece of art house cinema

When I saw the trailer of "The Green Knight" (2021, dir. David Lowery) for the first time, I was truly amazed. The film felt really mysterious and weird, but I simply loved it. So when it came out, I rushed to the cinema on the premiere day with my friend and his girlfriend. Well, what can I say... I simply loved the movie and the overall experience, but my fellow co-watchers were so bored that they considered leaving the cinema. This sound odd, but although I think that "The Green Knight" is a true masterpiece of art house cinema, it will be appreciated only by a handful of viewers. Are you among them? Well, let's find out!

"The Green Knight" was produced by the famous A24 studio and directed by David Lowery, a rather young director, who has already made a few great movies such as truly great "Ghost Story" (2017) and "The Old Man & The Gun" (2018) with Robert Redfort. Despite the latter title he always aimed at art house cinema and "The Green Knight" is the best example of his creative interest.

The movie tells a story of a young knight, sir Gawain, who challenges the mysterious Green Knight. Due to unexpected complications he embarks on a quest to find the foe and get beheaded by him. Along the path he faces many dangers and trials, most of which are just... well, weird.

"The Green Knight" is based on "Sir Gawain and the Green Knight", an Arthurian chivalric romance from the XIV century. Although Lowery takes the structure from the original work (the movie is divided into chapters), the source material is ultimately deconstructed. The movie version of sir Gawain is not a noble knight as he were in the original, but rather a cunning and cowardly young man, who despite his claims and tall talk does not follow the code of chivarly. Just as in the poem, he faces a lot of trials, but in the movie he fails most of them and proves to himself that he his not a person worthy of a status of a knight.

Lowery tells his story in an odd, art house way. The movie is very slow-paced and focused on the cinematography rather then on the story. One might think that the script lacks coherence, but disorder is just another tool in Lowery's toolbox. He focuses on creating a truly haunting atmosphere, which is just amazing. I was so involved in the movie from the first shot that I literally forgot about the whole work and kept on watching, engaged, until the very end.

Let's face it - "The Green Knight" is the most beautiful movie that I have ever seen. And as a graduate of film studies I've seen hundereds, if not thousands of them. Everything is just perfectly shot and illuminated. Lowery is just like an outstanding painter creating his opus magnum. Apart from the visuals, audio is also outstanding. The music is just great and sound effects are so realistic and scary...

There is one more thing that I have to mention - the ending. Some might find it confusing, but I really loved it. It shows the downfall of sir Gawain in a really clever and disturbing way, leaving us shattered... And then Lowery manipulates the narrative to look at the story from another perspective. I don't want to spoil the ending, but it was just right, as it should have been. Chapeau bas, sir. Chapeau bas!

Overall, I give this movie 10/10. In my opinion, this is a great masterpiece that every true fan of the cinema should see at least once. At least! I must admit though that this is a movie for everyone. Most of the viewers, especially those who like action and does not enjoy slow burners, will be simply bored. That is why "The Green Knight" is universally acclaimed by film critics, but the audience score is mixed. Nevertheless, give it a try. At best, you will love it. At worse, you'll spend two hours watching a beautifully shot, but boring movie. I think this is worth the risk!

Sort:  

If my review made you curious about "The Green Knight", here's a really good trailer of the film: