"The King's Choice" (2016) - a great Norwegian war drama film about WW2

When I think of war cinema, I immediately imagine a typical American blockbuster, with tone of bullets, explosions and dead bodies. But in reality war was different... That's why I value Scandinavian cinema that avoid pathos really well and tell more personal, more emotional stories. And "The King's Choice" is just that.
KingsChoice1
In 1940 Germany sent an ultimatum to Norwegian government. Either they will capitulate or will get invaded. Norway chose the latter and soon the German invasion followed. "The King's Choice" shows those events from the start, but the movie does not center on the government operations (although they are important part of the plot), but rather on a figure of Norway's king Haakon VII and his family. The king must make a tough choice - should the country continue it's hopeless resistance against the Germans or just surrender to the Nazi rule?
KingsChoice2
The dilema is indeed not that easy, but the movie focuses more on exploring the depths of it's limited set of characters: the king and his son, German ambassador who still believes in power of diplomacy and a young soldier from king's Royal Guard. All of them face hard decisions and are affected by the war. I must admit, that the writing in this movie is just superb. "The King's Choice" works both as an interesting drama as well as a toned down, but still engaging war movie, in which there are not that many explosions or bullets... But if there are, they are just thrilling and masterfully crafted.

I would like to leave you with the best scene from the movie - a sinking of German cruiser Blücher. Watch it. Enjoy the cinematography... It's simply stunning!

I gave this film a 8/10 score. One of the better war movies I have seen. And I've seen a lot of them!

Sort:  

8/10 you say? I love films told from different perspectives and didn't know this movie existed. It's going on my whiteboard right now. Thanks!

Sure thing! I hope it will be worth your time :)