The Woman In the House Across The Street From The Girl In The Window review (Netflix original)

I have just finished streaming all eight episodes of The Woman In the House Across The Street From The Girl In The Window on Netflix. This is a Netflix original show featuring Kristen Bell (so often they write Kirsten Bell as well, but I guess Kristen Bell is the correct version). She is an actress I often enjoy watching, and I have got to admit, she did a great role here as well.

The truth is, I have read lots of negative reviews of this series, so I didn't even want to give it a try. But, then I noticed that it has eight episodes and they are all 30 minutes or shorter, making it so easy to digest that I decided to give it a go no matter what. And that's what I did, and I kept watching all the way until the end.

netflix.jpg

What is the series about?

We meet Kristen Bell, playing the role of a mother who lost her daughter on a rainy day. Since then, she divorced her husband, and she has had panic attacks (especially when it is raining). She takes medicine to calm down, but she always combines medicines with alcohol, a very bad combination.

She enjoys sitting in her chair and looking out the window, and that is how she notices that a new handsome man is moving in on the opposite side of the road, together with his daughter.

They get to know one another, and only after a while does she get to know that there is a girlfriend as well (and a wife who died long ago).

As things evolve, she gets to see something as she sits in her chair, looking at the house of the neighbor, that makes her call the cops. But, has anything really happened, or is it just hallucinations caused by the combination of pills and alcohol?

Is this worth watching?

I have got to be honest... I actually enjoyed it. And what made this enjoyable to me is that I didn't know how it would end before it came to an end (early in the final episode). Is she crazy? Is she hallucinating? Has someone died? If someone has died, who was the murderer?

There are lots of questions here that you do not really know the answer to, and it makes you sit around creative, trying to guess what might come next.

As a result, I really enjoy watching this with my wife!

Have you seen this series? Do you agree with me, or didn't you like it at all? I would love to hear your thoughts and comments!

Sort:  

That thumbnail above from the series kind of portrays it in a way that is very different from the actual series.