#hivethrifted | It Works! | Buying Preloved Items through Hive Thrifted with HBD - Review

in HIVE THRIFTEDlast year

09F8602C-21C6-4773-8D8F-69E6DB3EABCD.jpeg

From you to me: Keshi pearl ear-rings make their way from California to midlands England.

I was delighted when the post launching the HIVE THRIFTED community came up in my feed! I buy about half my clothes through charity shops in the UK and I have recently become a subscriber to Vestiaire Collective and Depop.

I try to act in the interests of the planet by being selective about what and where I purchase; and, as a Saturday Saver, I'm always looking to use my resources as well as I can (I have to admit, though, I am not the best bargain hunter) 😁.

I was even more thrilled when one of the first items posted for offer was a pair of keshi pearl stud ear-rings for 30 HBD - getting a pair of these was on my list.

Everything went swimmingly - the item were listed according to HIVE THRIFTED community rules; @silversaver888 found me on Discord, we swapped information about shipping and agreed a final price.

I went and bought some HBD and, when @silversaver888 posted a picture of the packet at the USPS office, ready to be shipped, I transferred the HBD.

ABEC7A9B-5F5A-437D-85A3-8E1D493C4F25.png

We both tracked the packet's progress from California to the UK, sharing pictures like we had just sent our first-born out on a gap year in far climes 😂. It was exciting, I really enjoyed watching the different stages.

We lost track of the package on Thursday 27 April when the pulsating indicator on the tracking system told us it had departed Heathrow, London, United Kingdom at 8:19am.

F72B90E4-06CB-4E44-9D67-42A6C0BA06D8.jpeg
No packages were hurt in the staging of this photograph.

But it was okay: it popped through my front door at 11:05am on Friday 28 April like it hadn't been out anywhere, maybe a stroll to the bottom of the garden, certainly not crossing continents and the Atlantic Ocean.

The whole process from start to finish took 10 days, and the shipping element from the USA to the UK just seven days (could take up to four weeks, according to the website).

There is an irony here as I have been waiting for a replacement SIM card, coming all the way from Chipping Norton (a mere 60 miles away) for two months. It's been sent four times, but not one has arrived. Somehow, this little parcel through HIVE THRIFTED has managed to travel 5,193 miles over land and sea in a week!

Benefits of HIVE THRIFTED

  • Social - Growing Your Network on Hive

There is no doubt that the nicest part of this process was connecting with a new-to-me Hiver @silversaver888. It was pleasure, everything was done so nicely. I loved the little handwritten note that was included.

I liked that we were able to get in touch promptly with each other through Discord. I got lots of information about cost, when the package was going to be shipped and what was happening. We were both careful about things like ID.

I found out about a new person that I haven't met before - that was great. It's good for me personally and great for Hive for people to build networks.

  • Having Fun

Well, I love the idea of something travelling from the west coast of north America to the middle lands of England. It's exciting, in a way that we have lost, now that email has largely replaced letter writing.

One of the things that I have alway enjoyed about Hive is the insights into other people's lives. I love #marketfriday for that reason, and I love posts where people are inviting you into their lives, with words and pictures about their home environments and daily activities.

Having these kinds of connections, transnational transactions, it feels kind of wonderful.

  • Normalising using HBD for payments

My attitude to HBD has changed recently. For the majority of time I've been here, I haven't bothered too much about HBD, mostly exchanging or converting it for HIVE. I decided to start saving HBD when the 12% interest rate was introduced and, about the same time, I received a small windfall.

When the interest rate increased to 20%, I started to save more and regularly and then I started to think about it as an everyday wallet. I'm saving regularly for a year life expense in 12 months time, and then I started thinking about using it pay for things ... right on cue, HIVE THRIFTED arrived.

It's really helped that HBD is pegged - both parties can agree to a price and goa ahead know that neither or both of them are going to be out of pocket.

  • Environmental - a Moot Point?

Even though the item was liberated to go to another home and life, rather than landfill, I'm not sure that travelling 5,139 miles, by air, was the best thing for the planet.

I'm not likely to do this regularly, but it was fun to try it and show it can be done and very easily.

Final Thoughts

This was a great experience for me, and I hope for @silversaver888, too.

It's easy to check out accounts on Hive before you trade.
You can look at people's posts and comments - how do they behave? Are they involved in any community activity? Are they interacting with people you know? Any downvotes?
What's their wallet like? 🤔
Other sources of information:

  • hivebuzz.me
  • hivetasks.com

And be ready for them to check you out, too! 😁

Sort:  

Wow, what a wonderful experience! This is my first time selling!
And I am so glad the earrings made it to you.
We were the first to try Hive-Thrifted, and it was a success!
It was indeed a pleasure to get to know you, @shanibeer ! You are right about growing your network at Hive.
I hope you enjoy the pair of earrings!
😊🌺🤙
!PIZZA

Nice Touch Ms. Saver with the Handwritten Note............. Good Tip from Dan of " I Allegedly " on Youtube.........
Ms. Awesome Customer Service......... I !LUV it !

Your clear photos really showed off the beauty of those gorgeous earrings, well done with getting a sale all the way across the waters!
Nice review by @shanibeer :)

Indeed! Very nice review by @shanibeer .
I had my fingers crossed all the while, hehehe.
I'm glad it made it to @shanibeer !

Lovely to do business with you, and if we have added value to Hive, that's good, too 😍

Hahaha, we did!!!
We'll do this again!!!
😄

Thank you @shanibeer for this good informative post. great to see this concept is not only up and running, but also works. thanks for doing this test drive for us all. this is inspiring.
I suspect many of us Old Souls (@anttn ; @eliza.anne ...) will find interesting old stuff across the Hive network.
thank you @lizelle for this initiative 🙏

@shanibeer's review is excellent, explains the process so well. It was heart-warming reading about meeting the lovely @silversaver888 and the positive interaction they had. If there's a parcel locker system in your country (many are introducing it, we have one that's super affordable, speedy & reliable) then there's no need to share one's address. Obviously one needs to get the buyer's suburb to choose the nearest locker, cell phone number & email address so the locker unlock code can be sent by the provider.
As @shanibeer pointed out, if the parcel has to be sent to an address, it's easy to check the buyer or seller's reputation on Hive, but avoid delivering or receiving in person unless you know the Hiver well.
I hope we see some of your goods, thanks for tagging @anttn and @eliza.anne
We need to spread the word so fellow citizens can connect to make parcel delivery affordable.
Nice meeting you @bigorna1

Thank you @lizelle !
It is the first time I hear the parcel locker term so I will have to look into that.
but I think that being able to see in a transparent manner as Hive allows, another users profile, at least for me is enough before going into such contract.
I am running an inventory quest in the back of my head to see if there is anything I can offer.
all the best.

Safely over the continents, wonderful experience using HBD well done to @silversaver888 and @shanibeer another bright idea working #HiveThrifted shops thanks to @lizelle.

I think this is such a great initiative. I love thrift shopping:)))

It's a good start - I wonder if we can get it going regionally!

These things take some time to catch on, but I believe that it will take off:)

Hi @millycf1976, would you be interested in being an ambassador for Hive Thrifted? I'm not quite sure where you are in the world right now 😁, but @lizelle is trying to grow a network of country based ambassadors and I thought there might be a natural fit between Hive Thrifted and The Minimalist communities?

Hello @shanibeer,
The community is a brilliant and original idea on Hive, and I would be more than happy to consider promoting it alongside the Minimalist community.
I'm a little under the weather today, but I'll be in touch:)))

Hello @shanibeer 😁,
The community is a brilliant and original idea on Hive, and I would be more than happy to consider promoting it alongside the Minimalist community.
I'm a little under the weather today, but I'll be in touch:)))

Sorry to hear you're under the weather, hope you feel better soon 😍

@shanibeer is correct @millycf1976, I would love to have you as an 'ambassador' for your country, to try and 'gather the troops' so to speak, spread the word among your fellow citizens (& your other followers of course) and grow our 'thrifted stock'
Please consider and let me know via DM - @lizelle#5440. No moderation involved, merely the odd blog (written from your own account), to create awareness.

Hello @lizelle,
Yes, I do like the idea, and agree that the community would collaborate well with the Minimalist. I'll give it some thought and get back to you soon. I'm a little under the weather today, but should be better soon:)))

So sorry to hear you're not feeling well, please get better soon 🌻
I look forward to hearing from you, a collab would be awesome!

I just found Hive Thrifted. How fun! Your write-up is terrific.

We both tracked the packet's progress from California to the UK, sharing pictures like we had just sent our first-born out on a gap year in far climes.

Ha ha ha.

No packages were hurt in the staging of this photograph.

You're so funny!

I'm glad it all went seamlessly, @shanibeer. It does seem like a great way to be more connected to people and communities, in addition to thrifting (one of my favorite things), re-using more stuff instead of buying more new stuff (another one of my favorite things) and being more thoughtful of the planet. All good stuff!

Hi @jayna, good to see you, how are you?
Taking part in Hive Thrifted was great fun, I enjoyed it 😁.
I hope lots of people take part, @lizelle is doing a great job promoting it.
Best wishes to you and @agmoore and everyone at @theinkwell 😍

🌷😇

As for me, I always make sure that I compare prices before choosing where I will buy my products from.

Always a good idea 😍

They look pretty awesome - glad to hear it all worked well !
!ALIVE
!PIZZA

@shanibeer! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @hoosie. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

It was fun, the ear rings were a bonus 😍

That is a really cool experience you shared with @silversaver888 and the earrings. I do hope you enjoy them after such a wonderful experience. I am going to have to check out the thrift experience here. I like to hit up thrift shops and flea markets a lot for deals as well.

Thrift shops and flea markets are fun, aren't they?
I enjoy a wander around them 😍

Yes they are. You never know what you might find. It is like going on a treasure hunt sometimes.

This is wonderful, that you were able to purchase a lovely pair of earrings from another Hive user and the transaction went so well for both of you! @silversaver888 is a sweetie and has good fashion sense! I love thrift-shopping, too, because it's cheaper, it's a form of recycling, and you can find unique things not available anywhere else! Thanks for sharing the story of your exciting experience! 😊

I agree - one of the reasons I enjoy thrift shopping is finding unique things 😍

Thank you @thekittygirl 😍

Is there anywhere we can talk about fashion on Hive? Especially for older women?

The most active fashion-related Community page seems to be Hive's Red Carpet, where one can post about one's own personal styles and preferences as well as discuss celebrity's styles. Here's the link for each of the "Big Three" interfaces:
• PEAKD: https://peakd.com/c/hive-172958/created
• ECENCY: https://www.ecency.com/created/hive-172958
• HIVE.BLOG: https://hive.blog/trending/hive-172958

Awesome stuff @shanibeer, I am very impressed that you and @silversaver888 managed to do this despite living on different continents, just WOW!
Very happy that Hive Thrifted brought you those gorgeous earrings!
Thank you so very much for sharing this and writing a review - we need to come up with a system of a review score for our sellers, and buyers for that matter as well.

It was great fun, and I was really impressed with how quickly and well everything worked. So lovely to make global connections, too 😍

Yes, reviews/feedback are helpful - on Hive people soon get a reputation!

Awesome! Very nice to read this :^)

Thank you 😍 Did you enjoy your trip?

5 more days to go ;^)
Thanks for asking!

Ah, lovely 😍

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@silversaver888(1/5) tipped @shanibeer
hoosie tipped shanibeer

What!? This is a fantastic idea! We exchange digital ideas,support and assets via the blockchain but physical items? Like a Hive Garage sale across the globe? Right on.

Shame we have to use discord still as pumping personal information and having out data/conversations mined by a centralized app is not ideal. I guess the idea solution would have to be centralized as address information would be involved and needs to not be transparent for everyone to see.

Anyhow! Neat idea and Grats on the purchase and connecting with another great Hive community member directly via the blockchain!

Like a Hive Garage sale across the globe?

Hehe - can you imagine? 😁 I might just find takers for all my not quite new orbital sanders, rusty saws, bits of wood for a long ago project.

Yeah, I don't know how you get round the ID stuff. On the one hand, shame we have to use discord, on the other hand, thank goodness for discord. Although, @lizelle was suggesting a kind of click and collect arrangement, where you collect from a local depot. All great as long as there are no government types snooping through the internet. In time I guess we will have some kind of closed smart anonymous ID maybe through a QR code or something and then a package just finds its way to you.

It was a good experience and great fun 😍