You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I the only weird one? Urge to give away

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I haven't had any give away in crypto ever. Despite investing in crappy coins which is to some extent a giveaway as I am giving away precious money :))

Yes the rule is, download the "software", go offline, make an wallet on a computer that you can guarantee that it was not compromised, print it on the printer that is not and will not be online and somehow try to make sure people that get the paper wallet does not lose it.

Does anyone still do that? I have never took such safety measures, but the truth is I don't even own much crypto.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

they say you should, and it is a smart thing to do, but they also say paper wallet is not that smart thing in the age of hard wallets.

they also say go to hard wallets when you have the amount of crypto that you will cry about if it gets stolen :D

I hope mine won't be stolen but I don't have much at all to even bother with that much security. I know folks who have been storing it on Poloniex for years and it's safe.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

i got a trezor one few weeks ago. it was more to see how that works. if this is the future, it is good to learn :)

I was thinking that if ledgers can be hacked, what's the point anymore...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

from my understanding, ledger was not hacked, as the wallet. they lost personal info of their costumers. they were collecting names, addresses to send the product, phone numbers. you still need to send your "password" to someone so he can access your wallet. they just got the list so it is easier to ask for it :D

That is correct understanding. The wallet itself was not hacked, the privacy of the owners was under threat:

https://hive.blog/hive-167922/@lighteye/bitcion-the-greatest-hardware-wallet-problem-eng-srp-bitkoin-najveci-problem-vlasnika-khardverskikh-novchanika