You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Committed Are You To Making Hive The Best That It Can Be?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Does anyone else reread their posts for a third time after having published them before possibly going for the comment replies? I find myself doing this often and even with grammarly often find mistakes.

Sort:  

Nowadays, I almost always finds errors I missed after I post, despite a personal proofread and sometimes even after a proofread by a colleague, and I end up making several edits before I don't find any more errors.

Most of my grammar mistakes happen when I go back and edit some sentence I wrote to simplify it or improve it. The original sentence was correct, the new sentence in my head is correct, but when I edit the original sentence I don't just remove the old sentence and write the new one from scratch, and I don't end up making all the correct changes to transform the old sentence into the new sentence in my head.

I also find that I make more spelling errors than I used to since I began studying Mandarin. I think it rewired my brain to be more phonetic, and sometimes I'll write an entirely wrong word that sounds something like the word I intended to write. It's very disconcerting because in the past I could count on my writing to be near perfect in terms of spelling at least on the first draft.

I also find that I make more spelling errors than I used to since I began studying Mandarin.

Nothing like choosing an easy one to learn. LOL

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I chose it primarily because I play table tennis and so I have a lot of friends who are Chinese. It's also helpful when playing against Chinese who think you don't understand their spoken comments to each other in doubles :-) It's also very interesting to study a language that isn't a Romance language, to see how a truly distinct language evolved and to see the differences and similarities that still exist.

Spoken Mandarin is actually very reasonable to learn. The grammar is logical and there's not a huge number of words to learn like English. People often make a big deal about the tones, but I think the concern there is overblown. I'm sure I mess up tones all the time, but I'm also sure a native speaker won't be confused by my mistakes (they haven't been so far, at least, as long as I speak a sentence instead of just one word because they can figure it out from context).

The pain comes when you're trying to learn the essentially non-phonetic written language (yes, there are "radicals", but don't get me started on how inferrior that is to a truly phonetic written language). I've studied the written language some, but I don't have any real goal to learn it well, except where it might help me with the spoken language.

I feel like it's something that happens with the english language a lot tho may not be limited to it. Where you decide to reword something and the whole sentence needs to be rewritten. I think swedish and german are more forgiving there but not sure if that's what you meant.

That's really interesting that you're learning mandarin. I feel like I'm way past being able to learn new languages but maybe I'm just not trying hard enough, coding languages would've been a good decision for me and I regret not having stuck with it.

Learning a programming language is much easier than learning a language, so I would say for sure it is not too late to learn programming. Learning a new real language is a lot of work and you need something to keep you motivated. My own study is pretty intermittent.

Most recently I got motivated to study Mandarin some more after watching some Korean shows on Netflix and realizing I was learning a few Korean words, so I decided to see how I would do if I started watching some Chinese shows there as well.

My two biggest weaknesses at present are 1) I have trouble understanding spoken Chinese because my brain translates words too slowly and 2) I sometimes don't know the "normal/common/popular" way to put a set of words together to express a larger concept. Watching the shows is helping with both of those and it's a kind of low-effort way to study, so I can do it when I'm just trying to chill out at the end of a day.

I do, and still find mistakes. In the above comment, I missed the "u" in sturdy (which was corrected now). I've gone back to posts written a month ago and caught little things that somehow escaped me so that the post looks as professional as it can for visitors who find it here, or on Google and other search engines.

Spelling and grammar errors are like software bugs to me and need to be squashed when found.

Treat your posts (and comments) like a house you're showing to a prospective buyer. We all want Hive and LeoFinance to look their best! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have done that, probably not as much as I should.

For SEO rankings, I keep going back and updating some of my older articles here and there. At those times, I come across a few missteps in the grammar or spelling.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta