You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Money'? Sounds like a scam but whatever.

in LeoFinancelast year

In the U.S. you can get a 'secured' credit card. This enables you to take out a credit card with a spending limit equal to what is in your savings account. It doesn't have to be a lot, but you can start using the card and establishing credit if you use the card judiciously. Does anything like that exist in the U.k.?

Sort:  

There are quite a few options, but there are too many roadblocks to actually use them. Mostly the fact that I'm not a resident which applies to any such card you mention, too.

But there are other roadblocks. For example, I asked my mum about putting me on her card as an 'authorized user', and using her address as my pretend address, which is one way to build the credit score using someone else's credit card. But new rules mean that I have to turn up in person because otherwise I could be coercing or forcing her, something they added due to a rising presence of a slave trade in the UK...

Joy.