Unending Increase On Cost Of Living.

in LeoFinance8 months ago

I was with a friend just yesterday and we were thinking back to when things were of minimal price in my country ( Nigeria). Talking about how prices of goods and services has skyrocketed as years pass by.


Source

In the last decade, things sold for a certain price has tripled and quadrupled, even with this there is no changes to the minimum wage of workers in the country, it just seems like cost of living is getting more high and there is no improvement In the money workers remove( it not like but there is really no difference and no increase in wages paid to workers).

I've always wondered how people survive in my country because of the way things keeps getting costly. An example is the price of a bag of rice which is now sold for about fifty thousand naira(about 60-70 dollars) and about a decade ago, this same bag of rice was sold at about ten to fifteen thousand naira (about 20 dollars).

Meanwhile, the minimum wages in the country almost still haven't increased at all, minimum wages being around 40 dollars as at 10 years ago is still moving around 45 dollars.

In my opinion, I feel this is bad and it is actually affecting the country's economy and probably that's why there hasn't been a visible improvement or change in the country.

The current state of the country at the moment is very critical in which something has to be done quickly.

How do I know the situation of the country is critical?

Coming back from work today I noticed that many people are frustrated and almost at every nook and cranny of the street , there are conversations of how bad the current state of the country is. You will see a well dressed person stop you by the road to ask you for money for either eating or transport fare to where he/she is going.

People getting frustrated and angry at its height will result in violence.

At the rate at which things are going, I still believe things will get more costly and my concern is how will people survive at that rate. Though there is a saying that the people in my country are strong and will adapt to anu situation.

But I believe there is a point at which everyone breaks, right?

I just really do hope things get better.

Thanks for stopping by.

Have a wonderful day.

Sort:  

I'm expecting a social breakdown even in my first world western country of Canada, our homelessness and cost of living is getting bad.

Wow, I would have argued that things were better in Canada.
I just hope everything get better no worse.
Thanks to stopping by @kerrislravenhill

Not only homelessness but the average debt owed by Canadians to banks is $73,000 in 2022. Somethings got to give soon. 😟

That's huge, I think I've heard before that the cost of living in Canada is quite high.
I bet it's hard surviving out there.

I see young working families in homeless shelters and run down hotels waiting years for social housing openings. With the great inflow of immigrants make housing almost impossible and expensive. Many immigrants leave because they can't find the work in their profession and can't afford the costs.

It's that bad?

I was thinking immigrants are flooding into canada to actually stabilize their life.
But it seems staying there without their profession is a bad idea

There are plenty of Engineers, Doctors, teachers, etc that come in expecting those well paid jobs only to be stopped by Regulation barriers that demand knowledge and skill upgrades to conform to high Canadian standards that often require up to a few years before allowed to assume professional title.
In reality many end up in low paying service sector jobs other than their desired profession.