high achiever: it's OK to enjoy yourself after you've worked hard.

in LeoFinance5 months ago (edited)

gm hustlers!

High achievers are hardwired to get a sense of self worth through production. And while this can drive you to achieve great things, it can sometimes stop you from enjoying moments of relaxation.

Today, I had some wins at work. My team and I had a good recording session with an important client.

Recording Box team setting up a podcast.png

Everybody knew their role. The studio manager was in the lobby waiting for all members of the party to arrive (host, guest, marketing manager and someone else) , the production team was ready with lights, cameras, microphones and even coffee. the studio dog, Compadre, is always ready to greet people and wag his tail, and I just sat back and watched everything unfold flawlessly.

After a successful session, the team and I did worked on the 2024 forecast for the company. We worked on an investment budget as well as the marketing strategy for the first quarter. We left the meeting with a clear vision and a list of to-dos for the next time we meet.

We did good.

When I got home, I wanted to watch a movie.

Wasting time watching Blade Runner 2049

I scrolled through the options of my movie streaming service and stopped at a film I'm happy to watch again from time to time. Even though the story takes place in the future, I find the design of vehicles and cities quite believable, so it allows me to immerse myself in the story. The camera angles are exquisite, and the lightning, costume design and of course the soundtrack are superb on just about every scene.

It's a great movie, but after a few minutes of watching, I started feeling unproductive. I started getting some intrusive thoughts like.

Hey, you could be working...
Hey, you could be answering emails or social media messages...

And then I said to myself

wait a minute, your self-worth is not attached to production. You don't HAVE to be productive in every waking moment of your life.

A difficult question to ask ourselves is: what is the reason we work so hard when we aren't even able to turn off our phones, disconnect for an afternoon and enjoy the fruits of our labor?

And I think it's a giant cope mechanism to bolster our sense of worthiness to the world.

I am only worthy when I earn this much, achieve this much, train this much, only get this much sleep.

Ironically enough, the main villain's sidekick, the replicant Luv, played by Sylvia Hoeks, is exactly high achievement personified. She regularly makes statements like "I'm the best".

Notice yourself doing it

The trick, I think, is to catch yourself doing it.

You're NOT "wasting time" watching a movie. You're having an amazing time witnessing a cinematic masterpiece with an amazing score by Benjamin Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer as well as award-winning cinematography by Roger Deakins, and you're enjoying this moment with the most important person in your life, after a very productive day.

the best meditation sessions are not those where your mind never wanders off, they are those where you notice yourself having negative, intrusive or distracting thoughts, recognize them and the release them and allow them to go.


Images created using Mid Journey
Blade Runner image: https://www.architecturaldigest.com/story/5-reasons-were-not-surprised-blade-runner-2049-is-nominated-for-an-oscar

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This is so relatable and I catch myself doing this often. I now see that it’s all a way the ego wants to bolster its sense of self and to prove to itself as an over achiever. You analysed it well.

I think it’s best to enjoy ourselves like you said. Many people are addicted to producing and achieving that they forget to take some time off and enjoy the moment. What’s the life of a hustler if he doesn’t even get to enjoy the fruit of his hustle.

I’ve not watched this movie but I’ll give it a try whenever I can soon.

Totally.

It's important to notice that tingling sense of anxiety that brings thoughts of being unproductive, recognize them and let them go.

If you like film, you'll enjoy this movie, I promise :)

This is a very good reminder for everybody. I also made me recall the famous phrase "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy". I think business owners need to see this more than office workers. Because office workers have Vacation leaves, while business owners tend to work year round. Not relaxing or taking a break can lead to overwork or burnout, which can end up detrimental to your productivity. So yeah, go enjoy that wonderful movie, and reward yourself for an awesome job done.

Just that you said. I believe so much in it. It is quite vital to enjoy oneself after working because it has a way of increasing ones self esteem and refresh the battery itself

I can imagine how happy the client will be for the wonderful recording session. That’s a great job. Keep it up and merry Christmas in advance

Thank you; likewise.

"My team and I had a good recording session with an important client."

Glad to hear you guys didn't disappoint the client

Thanks friend.

Achieving non-disappointment is our number one goal. In fact, we might use that in our slogan.
Screen Shot 2023-12-23 at 11.45.55 AM.png

What do you think?