You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LeoThread 2024-05-03 09:27

in LeoFinancelast month

Would it be possible to transition the HIVE blockchain to something like 100 top witnesses? For the sake of further decentralization.

Sort:  

I guess the top 20 would have to vote that, but it's unlikely that they do.

Probably not.

I think it might be possible.

Certainly possible and IMHO would be an improvement. Not highly likely though. If they did it gradually, like 25 then 30 then 40 etc. its value could be assessed along the way.

I think we talk about decentralization too much when there are only 20 to witnesses. I'd love to see us take a small step towards increasing that number; 30 would be a start.

That is definitely true. I think it is hard for people to let centralization go, even if just a little.