#AskLeo - what business books have influenced you?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Hi,

for today's #AskLeo, the brainchild of @acesontop, I want to follow up a discussion that was in discord a couple of weeks ago. There was a discussion on what books the persons in the chat have been influenced by.

There are many books, genders and moments for reading. Today I want to ask you on the business books that you have read and that made an impact upon you.

As it is fair, for me the one who asked I will start. It is not in this particular order, as all books presented have a certain type of wisdom inside.

Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action by Simon Sinek

image.png

Sinek is for me one of the best modern authors in terms of business thinking, and this book, as simple as the title is, is very deep. All surrounds around the question of why. It is a good way to find a purpose for an organization, giving it the fuel it needs to be extraordinary. There are some good examples in the book, why some companies excel and others not.

How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie

image.png

This book is giving a lot of good advice and to sum it up, it is telling to put ourselves in the shoes of the other to understand what they need and the aim they have.

I still need to practice the teachings from it, as I see it in my life how major impact it had when I applied it.

Thick Face, Black Heart: The Warrior Philosophy for Conquering the Challenges of Business and Life by Chin-Ning Chu

image.png

This book is a tough read, as it challenges a lot of believes that one might have. The most important message of it was to follow the road without caring what other people say, to choose the right fights, that are worth fighting. I've read it 4 years ago for the first time and have reread it once since then. This year I plan a rereading as I see that I might need it.

So, what business books have influenced you along the way?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

One of my most influential books is “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” by Robert Kiyosaki. I read this book at the perfect time when I was just starting to learn about personal finance. It made me discover the concept of “Do Your Own Research”.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

"Rich Dad" was an important one for me as well, but also "The Richest Man in Babylon" which I think should be handed out in high school, to give everyone a strong financial foundation while they're young.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well, about self help books, I tried so many that I could tell any didn’t worked for me or helped me, except one. Is called “Staring at the Sun” by Irvin D. Yalom.

The book is about overcome the fear to death. It explain why is the root problem of many mental health issues like anxiety. It give examples and tips.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

sure, "Zero to One" By Peter Thiel
It is really great book for beginners specifically
It inspire me alot

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

"How to Win Friends and Influence People" by Dale Carnegie was one of the most influential books that I ever read. The simple examples the author provides are a real eye opener, completely shifted the way I interact with people.
“Rich Dad, Poor Dad” Is also a great one, it taught me how to think about money and plan for the future.
Also just started reading "Atomic Habits" by James Clear today, I'm liking it so far...

The one I felt was a complete waste of money and time "The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck" it provides 0 value if you have any common sense, if you don't might learn a thing or two. Some curious real life examples tough...

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta