My love for sports

in LeoFinance14 days ago (edited)

image.png

Source: Samsung S3 - Somewhere in Germany, 2013

Hi,

since I was 3, I did play sports. It is in human nature to move, and if you see me, you would probably not believe it, as I'm not in the shape I'm supposed to be, but in a slight round one. I don't have a six-pack, I have a one pack. I was pretty good at sports, but not due to effort, more to technical play.

Well, let's see what sports I played, first was gymnastics, when I was 3, till 6, but then the club where I was, closed like most sports clubs in the 90s in my country. There was a serious lack of funding, and most clubs, with a very long tradition, of over 100 years, could not keep up with the times. Then I started with skiing at 7, where I had a major accident, and had to stay in bed for 3 months. Greta, what would I say, as it has grown fear of skiing, and up to this day I don't practice it. I do go once in a while snowboarding, but this is another story.

From there I played basketball and tennis, where I enjoyed both sports, but my genetics don't help, at least for tennis not. At basketball, I played mostly point guard, due to passing skills and real good ratio of 3 pointers.

But after these 2 sports, with 12 I've entered other two sports, where I became good. On one, managed to play for the youth national team. Yes, with 12 is late to start a sport where one is good, but sometimes genetics help. The two sports have been, water-polo and Kyokushin karate. Here I played both, as one was for single mental toughness, which I feel today, and the second one was for team spirit and leadership. At water-polo, managed to play against team from Hungary, Serbia, Croatia and Montenegro, and these was a great achievement. These teams are world power houses, with a very good school. In my country of 20 million people, we had only 8 clubs at that time, as due to the total failure in the 90s of the clubs.

At 18, I had to quit water-polo, as there was no team in the city where I moved for university. I continued with Kyokushin, also competed, where I was a brown belt, not black, as I did not want to hold the exam. In competitions, I've entered with the white belt, always, as for life we are white belts that need to learn.

With a friend of mine, we started a cricket club, where we managed to build up a team, that was competing in the first year of funding. We had mostly teammates from India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Pakistan. They have been very happy that we founded the team. Some of the guys we helped get the citizenship and they played even for the national team, which went fine here in Europe, as they have been Continental Cup Champions for the past 2 years.

When I moved to Germany, I was amazed by the sport facilities. I've started playing water-polo, again, at 30, first in the 5th league. As my club had different teams, in different leagues, I've played up to the 3rd. For the 5th league team, I was the captain, and we managed to promote within one year, even if playing most times as point, managed to be in the top 5 scores of the team. The point is the playmaker.

This is, in short, my sports history, as I love sports, both team and individual ones.

image.png

Source: Samsung S3 - Westfalenstadion, Revierderby 2013

Nevertheless, I do also go to stadiums for fun games. As Germany is one of the top5 leagues in the world, with a very high percentage of goals scored, it is always fun to be there.


How about you? Do you like sports?


This is part of the initiative #aprilinleo, which aims increasing the interaction and the quality of posts, where you should participate. All the details are in here.



Source

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

https://inleo.io/threads/alexvan/re-leo-tasks-2swtezana
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( alexvan ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

I love sports a lot especially football which creates a good feeling when been involved.

Congratulations @alexvan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 18500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 19000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge